DCC++ support added in Rocrail

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 02.03.2016, 15:00

Hi,

NEW:
Rocrail supports the DCC++ Command Station based on an Arduino and the Motor Shield.
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=dccpp:dccpp-en

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 4040
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by RainerK » 02.03.2016, 15:09

Hi Rob,

I play actual with an Arduino and yesterday I did ordered an Motor shield
What do You mean why I did so ? :wink:

Best Regards
RainerK

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 02.03.2016, 15:25

Hi Rainer,

do not forget to read the documentation:
https://github.com/DccPlusPlus/Documentation
The motor shield must be modified.

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6690
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by peter&basti » 02.03.2016, 16:47

Hi Rob,

i've checked Aliexpress right now.
Is it really true to get with DCC++ a full working DCC command station for about EUR 7,-- ?
(USD 5,00 for a Arduino Uno, USD 2,00 for a Motor shield, both items "free shipping")

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 4040
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by RainerK » 02.03.2016, 17:02

Hi Rob,
rjversluis wrote:...do not forget to read the documentation...
thank You for the Information, but I have already seen the special hardware requirements.
I think You know, hardware is my passion. :wink:

In the 4th video of the DCC++ home page I missed the cuts at the BRAKE connection points, whitch are described in the PDF.
It could be important, if a user will use all available free Arduino pins.

I have also an Information to You: In the file "Config.h" You will find:

Code: Select all

#define MAX_MAIN_REGISTERS 12
IMHO should there be possible to increase the number of slots to more then 12, if it may be of interest in some cases.
A test might be worth if the Arduino will provide it.

Best Regards
RainerK

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 02.03.2016, 17:07

Hi Rainer,

I could add a slot manager; If a loco is longer then XX seconds idle, speed=0, the slot will be set free for another loco who needs it.

To increase the max number of slots will lead to irresponsive locos.
Twelve locos running simultaneous is a lot for a regular home layout.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6074
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by smitt48 » 02.03.2016, 17:18

Hi Rob,

I watched one of the videos. There was no mention of railroad software, just DCC++.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2Pe_4sjfJXE

With what do they run the trains, the switches?

Thanks Tom

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 4040
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by RainerK » 02.03.2016, 17:20

Hi Rob,
rjversluis wrote:I could add a slot manager;
...
Twelve locos running simultaneous is a lot for a regular home layout.
You are right and a slot manager or an auto slot purge will be the right solution.

Best Regards
RainerK

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 02.03.2016, 20:13

I added a passive slot management.
A slot will be purged on requesting one for a new loco.

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 4040
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by RainerK » 04.03.2016, 12:15

Hi Rob,

all sensors in the tested Demo plan I have given the IID from the VCS
But in the Start phase of the CS dcc++ send Rocrail a Status query for all Sensor adresses/ports to this CS.
dcc++ reports all with ON and so the sensors in Rocview are shown in red / active.

Please look in the attached issue.zip

Best Regards
RainerK
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 04.03.2016, 14:05

Hi Rainer,

OK, I fixed this sensor initialisation.

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 4040
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by RainerK » 04.03.2016, 17:02

Hi Rob,

thank You, now it works OK in the virtual Mode.
The communication with the Arduino is visible in the CS window and at the led's on the Arduino.

Now it's very hard to wait on the delivery of the Motor shield . . .
...
and waiting :coffee:
...
and waiting :coffee:
...
and waiting :coffee:
...

Best regards
RainerK

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 04.03.2016, 17:24

Hi Rainer,

I'm also waiting for a motor shield...

I hope we can run trains with this remarkable CS.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6074
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by smitt48 » 05.03.2016, 01:13

Hi Rob,

Can this CS throw switches with a decoder, or do you need something else?
How many sensors does it support? I think, on the picture (can't find it again) it shows < 10. What else do you need to automate trains?

Thanks Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42023
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DCC++ support added in Rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 05.03.2016, 07:34

Hi Tom,

the full NMRA stationary decoder range can be addressed.
How many sensors does it support?
If using a Arduino Mega there are additional ports: On the back header 32.
If more are needed you need an extra interface or implement S88 in the DCC++ firmware.

Post Reply

Return to “Arduino DCC++”