[Solved] Serial connection terminated Elektor DCC

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42319
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 25.10.2012, 20:13

Hi Patrick,

if you turn on BYTE level trace both directions are traced out.

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 25.10.2012, 20:20

Rob,

I didn't express myself quite well. I would like to log all the commands that are send, not only the one without reply. Is this possible?

patrick

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42319
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 25.10.2012, 20:39

Hi Patrick,

I added the missing byte traces in revision 4193.

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 25.10.2012, 21:01

Hi Rob,

thanks, this will help me quite a lot.
I'll keep you informed.

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 25.10.2012, 23:48

Hi Rob,

The lockup of the command station is most likely caused by repeated transmission of XLok commands by RocRail server, even when nothing has changed (speed 0, functions unchanged). If multiple trains are configured the station locks up. At this moment it is not yet known exactly what goes wrong in my station (most likely too many *urgent frames* that are send) . The station doesn't recognize that the speed/direction/function data is not changed. This is a flaw in my software and it will be rather straightforward to solve the problem by adding an extra check. This wil eliminate unnecessary urgent DCC frames on the track. (patch will be applied after root cause of the crash is determined because the crash itself should neither happen. Urgent frames are inserted at the head of the cyclic refresh queue. Queue full condition is handle properly - this shouldn't cause any mailfunctions)

Thanks to you all for your support.

Patrick

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 26.10.2012, 06:09

Hi Rob,

a small additional question.

Do you know why Rocrail server continously sends P50x xLok speed commands when speed of a lok is 0? any particular reason for this behavior?

regards,

patrick

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42319
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 26.10.2012, 06:15

Hi Patrick,

can you provide a trace snippet?

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 26.10.2012, 17:28

Hi Rob,

This is a sample log file from Dusan.

patrick
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42319
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 26.10.2012, 19:08

Hi Patrick,

you switched off the INFO trace level; Just switch it on and post a new trace please.

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 26.10.2012, 22:11

Hi Rob,

Dusan forwarded this file to me
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42319
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 27.10.2012, 07:06

Hi Patrick,

sorry but this did not help.
I need some line which give me a clue for this looping in setting zero speed.

Please make a trace with:
BYTE off
INFO on
AUTOMATIC on
MONITOR on
DEBUG on

Delete all existing trace files before restart.
Zip all new traces files and post it here.

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 27.10.2012, 19:47

Hi Rob,

I've received this file from Dusan.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 27.10.2012, 19:55

Hi Dusan/Rob,

Queue full wasn't handled properly in the station :oops: . In fact, an exception was raised when the urgent frame queue was full. As a consequence, the station locks up and requires a power cycle.
But even without this exception, the performance would be degradated due to the excessive number of urgent frames.
I'm preparing a fix for the queue full condition and at the same moment I'l make a fix for this "DOS"' attack on my station :wink:

Kind regards,

Patrick

LDG
Site Admin
Posts: 2701
Joined: 18.10.2010, 00:03
Location: near Karlsruhe/Germany

Post by LDG » 27.10.2012, 21:23

Hello Patrick,

just a question concerning our compatibilty check in the p50x library of Rocrail.

Is your station supporting the following commands?

0x89 XFunc2 / XFuncX (set F9-16)
0x8A XFunc34 (set F17-F28)

0x8D XFunc2Sts / XFuncXSts (read F9-F16)
0x8E XFunc34Sts (read F17-F28)

Regards,
Lothar

Patrick Smout

Post by Patrick Smout » 27.10.2012, 21:51

Hi Lothar,

0x89 -> Yes
0x8a -> No
0x8d -> Yes
0x8e -> No

Might this confuse RocRail?
I do support up to 20 function for XpressNet (LokMaus) so it wouldn't be a big task to extend it to 28 functions and add support for the IB protocol 8a/8e.

Kind regards,

Patrick

Post Reply

Return to “P50 and P50x”