Page 1 of 1

Modular Overview Panel: PREVIEW!!!

PostPosted: 24.05.2008, 16:01
by rjversluis
Hi,

a big step a head towards visualisation in modular layout is achieved today. All modules can be setup a position in the overview and are all functional as normal level views.

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 07:23
by rjversluis

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 19:13
by cwichmann
Hey Rob,

Congratulations, it looks very good :-)

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 19:19
by rjversluis
Thanks Christian!

I'm also very happy it did work out the way I wanted it.
Next step is to make it possible to rotate modules by 90° and 270°;
180° is already implemented.

But I am not sure if it make sense to display the modules as they are arranged in real...

This thread does not receive much responses so it seems there are not many modular layouts around at the forum members.

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 19:39
by dadolphs
Hi Rob,

even if I'm not using modules at the moment, I think that this feature is a big step forward for Rocrail.

rjversluis wrote:But I am not sure if it make sense to display the modules as they are arranged in real...


As far as I understand the wiki it's possible for users to arrange each module with coordinates. I think that's sufficient.

I'm missing some additional information (module title??) in the display. This would make the orientation a little bit easier ... :wink:

Looking forward to see the next steps,
Dirk

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 19:43
by cwichmann
mhhhh, in my eyes the modular support makes only sense for big railroads like the MGV club layout ( ok, the layouts ;-) I'm shure that the most Rocrailers have a fixed layout. It is not as variable as a modular layout but you can place more raildroad stuff on the same place.

Due to the big layouts it makes no sense to show the layout as it is in real because you need an enormous screen to display all the tracks. Only model railroad clubs may be able to buy a big 42" screen or several smaler screens to display the whole layout as it is.

But noone prevents you from coding and developing. If you have fun, please do it :-)

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 19:53
by cwichmann
Hi Dirk,

great Idea! The module name in the Top of each module area would be great.

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 20:14
by rjversluis
No, forget it.
Just use a text object in every module with its name on it.
You can give it any fore/background color you like it to have:

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=tex ... splay_text

PostPosted: 25.05.2008, 20:20
by dadolphs
rjversluis wrote:No, forget it.
Just use a text object in every module with its name on it.
You can give it any fore/background color you like it to have:

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=tex ... splay_text


:beer:
It was just an idea to use existing data instead of adding additional data. :wink:

Best regards,
Dirk

PostPosted: 26.05.2008, 06:42
by rjversluis
dadolphs wrote:It was just an idea to use existing data instead of adding additional data.

You made a point there.;-)
It's just a few lines of code; I will add a label in the left upper corner of the modules.

PostPosted: 26.05.2008, 22:12
by dadolphs
Hi Rob,

rjversluis wrote:You made a point there.;-)


In the meantime even I understand the power of the XML behind Rocrail ... :wink:

rjversluis wrote:It's just a few lines of code; I will add a label in the left upper corner of the modules.


Perfect! :D And another :beer:

Best regards,
Dirk