ddx with 6604, what do I need to read and program CVs? (DCC)

Moderator: Moderators

ddx with 6604, what do I need to read and program CVs? (DCC)

Postby Mena » 23.04.2011, 22:31

Hi, I am quite new to digital railroading, I am using Rocrail (WinXp) with ddx (dcc) and a Märklin 6604 as a booster. I guess this is not enough for reading CVs, what do I need in order to be able to do so? Some other connection or hardware?
Thanks and regards
Mena

Postby RainerK » 24.04.2011, 08:45

Hi Mena,

my recommendation is the part of the schematic with this function like used in ORD-1.
You will see that here ORD-1 schematic between the R51 and DB9 J2 pin 9 with all the components around U4 and O13.

Another simplified circuit You will see here: http://vogt-it.com/OpenSource/DDL/index ... onnections
But without the opto isolation it is dangerous for the PC interface in case of circuit faults.

Please consider that all this circuits work only at native RS232 PC interfaces.
USBtoRS232 adapters normaly will not support this function.

Best Regards
RainerK
Best Regards, es grüßt RainerK

DCC++ with Arduino Uno / Motor shield and LocoNet GCA85, 50, 93 and 136. Special interests: DIY electronic assemblies. http://www.rainermoba.blogspot.com
Planning replace the coincidence by the mistake
RainerK

Postby Mena » 24.04.2011, 09:51

Thanks a lot Rainerk, that doesn't look too difficult for me ;-) .

I have a doubt, I normally use a single output (I have a Trix Mobile Station) and I choose the "programming track" through manual switches, could I just take the output "1" from the 6604 (switch "B"?) and the "2" from the ack circuit and work normally?