Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work  [✔]

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 29.12.2018, 23:44

The track plan in the Demo Workspace is totally different from the Step by Step Tutorial. After the loco is started and the first sensor is "tripped" the demo fails and finally ends with Ghost loco in the final block.

Is there a different Demo Workspace?

Richard

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6111
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by smitt48 » 29.12.2018, 23:51

Hi Richard,

There are 2 demo workspaces (one called wiki and one called demo), one like the stepbystep (wiki) and one (demo) that is the more substantial plan.
Please use the issue button on the menu to add the plan to the forum.

https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=issue-en

Tom

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 30.12.2018, 03:02

Hi Tom

Thanks for your reply.

I can only see one demo called Demo Workspace. (No mention of Wiki)

I followed the steps in your procedure but the File Explorer window did not open.

Maybe I am being dumb.

Regards
Richard

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 4077
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RainerK » 30.12.2018, 04:18

Hi Richard,

at the Install-Setup You need to choose between Demo plan and Wiki plan:
rocrail-setup.png
Because both plans uses the same File name and will installed at the same place,
its only possible to use one of the plans in the same installing.

My further description is only for the File system under windows.
The general informations for using both plans is common to all OS.


The path of the installed file: C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Rocrail\plan.xml

If there one of the plans is already installed, its not possible to overwrite it, when You try to install the other one.

There are two possibilities to change between the both plans:
1. You need to delete the already exist Plan file and then install the other one.
2. If You wish to use the both Plans alternately, You need to copy or move the already exist Plan file
in a additional created separate workspace (e.g. a Sub folder to Rocrail),
and if necessary delete the Plan file at the original place, to be able installing there the other one.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 30.12.2018, 06:14

Thanks Tom

I remember that step of the installation process and I chose Demo not Wiki because the Tutorial recommended it.

Can I delete C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Rocrail\plan.xml and rerun the install and choose wiki this time or will this lead to trouble?

regards
Richard

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by Besra » 30.12.2018, 08:51

Hi Richard,
I chose Demo not Wiki because the Tutorial recommended it.
It's just the other way round :lol:
Wiki wrote:Wiki demo plan (not Demo plan) should be selected
Can I delete C:\Users\<username>\Documents\Rocrail\plan.xml and rerun the install and choose wiki this time or will this lead to trouble?
Yes, you can do it like this. Make sure Rocrail is not running, then delete or rename plan.xml.

Regards
Bernd

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 30.12.2018, 10:34

Hi Tom

Yes. When I reread the installation instructions, I realised that I had done exactly the opposite of what the tutorial recommended. Duuuuh!

I will have another try tonight and see if I can follow instructions correctly.

By the way I am in Melbourne Australia. Am I right in thinking you are in the Dutch Caribbean?

Regards
Richard

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 30.12.2018, 11:07

Hi Tom

New download failed. I got to this screen and could go no further

https://wiki.rocrail.net/lib/exe/fetch. ... nstall.png

Regards
Richard

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by Besra » 30.12.2018, 12:35

Hello Richard,

you can use this wiki page: https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=download-int. Below the mentioned icon you'll find the downloads for Windows, Ubuntu, Raspberry Pi, Linux, Apple macOS, Raspberry Pi, Android... Choose what is applicable.


Regards
Bernd

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6111
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by smitt48 » 30.12.2018, 13:32

Hi Richard,


Yes you are right I now live (2.5 years) on Bonaire, Dutch Caribbean. :mrgreen:
Before that I lived 43 years in the USA and before that in Holland.
I still like that "demo" plan to see were the error is. I will download it myself to see if it was a user (you :D ) problem or a Rocrail (us) problem.

Tom

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6111
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by smitt48 » 30.12.2018, 15:30

Hi Richard,

Here is the Wiki-Demo plan that matches the stepbystep!

Tom
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 30.12.2018, 21:33

Hi Tom

Download failed at the same point again. Do I need to do a Windows uninstall of the existing copy before downloading the new copy or will it install over the existing one?

I will try using the plan.xml you sent without a reinstall to see if that solves the issue.

Regards
Richard

RedTrain
Posts: 851
Joined: 13.10.2012, 19:21
Location: Uetikon am See, Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RedTrain » 30.12.2018, 21:37

Dear all
I have made a minor adjustment in the Wiki to avoid misunderstandings: "Wiki demo plan" is now "Wiki plan" = same name as the installer option

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6111
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by smitt48 » 30.12.2018, 21:55

Hi Richard,
Download failed at the same point again. Do I need to do a Windows uninstall of the existing copy before downloading the new copy or will it install over the existing
No need to uninstall.
The download failed or the install?
Are you trying to install a 64bit in a 32bit machine?

1. The plan.xml that I provided need to copied into a folder (workspace in Rocrail speak).
2. Start Rocview.exe that starts the Rocrail server, under File select "open workspace", now find the folder from step 1 and select it.
3. The plan should load.

Tom

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Demo Workspace: Track Plan does not work

Post by RCGeek » 31.12.2018, 00:41

Hi Tom

Download failed but I copied the plan.xml which you sent me into the rocrail folder and launched Rocview. The demo now works perfectly.

I will push on with developing my track plan and including sensors, routes, etc.

Now my 2018 can go out on a high note!

Thanks for your help and patience - I still have a lot to learn.

Happy New Year
Richard

Post Reply

Return to “Documentation”