Rocrail Command Station

Post Reply
minitreintje
Posts: 28
Joined: 19.06.2014, 15:43

Rocrail Command Station

Post by minitreintje » 25.05.2016, 08:44

Hi everyone,

I build myself a Rocrail Command Station to control my locomotives in Rocrail. It took some time but it works now (a huge thanks to Rob!)
Everything runs on a Arduino Pro Micro which emulates a gamepad to interact with Rocrail.

Supported items:
  • Select locomotive
  • Functions F0 - F24
  • E-Stop
  • Change direction
  • Change speed with a knob
It's build in a 3D printed case which fits the mini Windows PC 'PIPO X9'.

Video:

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lDbwhhd7UgQ

:rr_for_ever:
Dylan

eroncelli
Posts: 350
Joined: 11.01.2009, 19:09
Location: Bergamo - Italy

Re: Rocrail Command Station

Post by eroncelli » 25.05.2016, 09:26

It looks as a very interesting application :coding: :D :D
Maybe, some more information on HW configuration and SW would be useful for the many who like DIY solutions.
Just a first question: which protocol does it use, DCC only or MM2/mfx ?

minitreintje
Posts: 28
Joined: 19.06.2014, 15:43

Re: Rocrail Command Station

Post by minitreintje » 27.05.2016, 13:41

It's more an extension for Rocrail, you still need a booster or a command station to send the data to the tracks.
It connects with Rocrail as a second controller (gamepad). The hardware consists of an Arduino Pro Micro, 2 keypads, 1 arcade button and some LED's.
The Arduino Pro Micro uses the HID library to emulate a 32 function gamepad.

Dylan

minitreintje
Posts: 28
Joined: 19.06.2014, 15:43

Re: Rocrail Command Station

Post by minitreintje » 07.06.2016, 12:58

Sources, schematics and stickers are now available:

https://github.com/modulebaan/Trainduin ... andStation

Dylan

Post Reply

Return to “DIY Hardware”