RFID tags (MERG kit and others)  [✔]

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 05.03.2010, 22:49

Hi,

I asembled my MERG RFID kit today.

Had anybody this successfully tested with the MERG rfid concentrator?
I saw readings with the single reader, but now with the RFID concentrator I dont get anything. I can see the output in a terminal SW.

Anybody with successful settings?

Best

Lothar

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 05.03.2010, 23:10

Hi Lothar,
gramels wrote:I can see the output in a terminal SW.
Maybe I can help if you let me see it also. ;-)

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 05.03.2010, 23:18

:) .oO ( Why did I expect this) ;)

3 different RFID tags

Code: Select all

A0413276C1C40
>A0413276C1C40
>A041327600050
>A0413277AE3A9
>A0413276C1C40
>A0413277AE3A9
>A0413277AE3A9
>A041327600050
>
I will dig in the specs of the kid to figure out, what is data, delimiter and cheksum. I will post in a few minutes.

The kit looks good and ist great for the price. Was worth getting the MERG membership.

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 05.03.2010, 23:35

The stuff posted earlier here in this thread seems to be about what I could find the in MERG forum. Loking forward to test... :)

Lothar

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2010, 08:39

Hi Lothar,

this is already implemented in the rfid12 library; Why not using it for testing!?

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 06.03.2010, 08:51

? of course I used RFID12 for testing... :twisted:

It worked for the setup without the concentrator, but not with the concentrator.

w/o concentrator I got the
evaluateRFID[][04162E9E87]: addr=1 id=372153995

with concentrator I got no message in rocrail.
pmansvelder wrote:

- If a 8-port concentrator is used, it connects 8 readers and converts them to a single serial port; to identify the reader, it overwrites the [STX] character of the above data format with the bankid ( 1 to 8 ) in ASCII.

The rfid concentrator changes the output format to

Code: Select all

ChID, 10 Alphanumeric characters, 2 checksum characters, CR, LF, > 
Shall I put the stuff in a bugtracker issue?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2010, 09:10

Hi Lothar,

are you sure that the string ends with '>'?
Or is it from the terminal you are using?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2010, 09:40

Hi Lothar,

you can give 1411 a try. It has a fix for detecting the end char for concentrators.

PS: If you already have 1410 compiled you only have to change directory in rocdigs and issue make there.

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 06.03.2010, 09:49

ends with >

I have seen this charcter in MacOS zterm a in linux GTK-term

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 06.03.2010, 09:55

5 differetn tags

Code: Select all

gramels@eeePC:~/lp/Rocrail$ cu -l /dev/ttyUSB1 -s 9600
Connected.
A04132759355C
>A04132759355C
>A04132759355C
>A04132759355C
>A04132759355C
>A04132759355C
>A0413277AE3A9
>A0413276C1C40
>A041327600050
>A0413277F9ED1
>A0413277F9ED1
>cu: Got termination signal

Disconnected.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2010, 10:11

Rocrail trace?

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 06.03.2010, 10:24

I put that into

https://bugs.launchpad.net/rocrail/+bug/513006

since its too cumbersome to convert trc files here before upload.

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 06.03.2010, 17:32

ok, I get the readings in rocrail

Code: Select all

evaluateRFID[A][0413276000]: addr=1 id=321347588
and a sensor can be linked to it.
Ho can I now use the ID to check a loco into a block as described in http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=tam ... en#example ?
Should work in the same way?

A picture of a sensor attached to the track below (and in the wiki http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=rfid12-en ).

rock on rocrail! :)
Attachments
IMG_3171.JPG
IMG_3171.JPG (61.47 KiB) Viewed 2826 times

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2010, 20:20

Hi,

in revision 1414 I handle the ident code for all event types in the same way as the ident event type. In other words: The event type 'ident' is kind of gotten obsolete, but still usable for dedicated ident sensor types.

Any other ideas are welcome to publish here.

gramels
Posts: 221
Joined: 24.12.2009, 08:32
Location: around Zürich/ Switzerland and SouthWest Germany (Südbaden)

Post by gramels » 07.03.2010, 23:14

Hi Rob,

can you elaborate a little about

Code: Select all

"1415 check MU consist for fitting ident code"
A quick check with my infamous MU on my rifd equiped testlayout did not result in any different behaviour as 1414. I expected the Name of the MU shown instead of the las Unit.

Thanks.

Lothar

Post Reply

Return to “DIY Hardware”