Simple block detector - zero loss

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 28.02.2014, 00:10

rjversluis wrote:Hi Richard,

Peter will also evaluate your approach with ADC converters.
If he is convinced of usability he will probably use a PIC with 8 analog inputs and 8 digital outputs to create a solution for GCA50, CAN-GC2 and GCA-Pi02.
The measured analog value is not really a usable parameter so in this case it will be lost.
But if the tests work out well you can be proud of your self triggering this DIY project.

What Peter does is up to him. He is the real engineer around here. Me? I am just a hack who barely knows what end of the soldering iron to grab.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 28.02.2014, 02:22

Rob,

The relative usefulness of ADC values is questionable to me. Having said that, I suppose it is possible to say something like this "One car is in block" or "Running Loco Detected in block" How useful is that information? I have no idea. I doubt it is of any use whatsoever. Either a train is in a block or it isn't.

I am expecting my shipment of transformers tomorrow.
Image

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by rjversluis » 28.02.2014, 08:24

Code: Select all

rocrail.001.trc:20140228.081939.702 r9999c rnreader OrocNet  1476 sensor report 201:157 on id(ent)= load=128
rocrail.001.trc:20140228.081939.705 r9999c rnreader OrocNet  1476 sensor report 201:159 on id(ent)= load=243
rocrail.001.trc:20140228.081939.707 r9999c rnreader OrocNet  1476 sensor report 201:160 on id(ent)= load=245
rocrail.001.trc:20140228.081939.871 r9999c rnreader OrocNet  1476 sensor report 201:157 off id(ent)= load=0
rocrail.001.trc:20140228.081942.170 r9999c rnreader OrocNet  1476 sensor report 201:158 on id(ent)= load=32
rocrail.001.trc:20140228.082034.335 r9999c rnreader OrocNet  1476 sensor report 201:158 off id(ent)= load=3

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 28.02.2014, 16:21

That looks great Rob. That actually makes my life easier.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by rjversluis » 28.02.2014, 17:42

Richard-TX wrote:That looks great Rob. That actually makes my life easier.
Why?
Its just funny information which you cannot use.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 28.02.2014, 17:52

Actually I can. When I am doing testing and want to see what the effect has on changes that I make, I can measure them using Rocrail alone. I don't have to use Rocrail plus one of my programs.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by rjversluis » 28.02.2014, 17:58

OK. :)
Until now you did a good job; Even Peter got interested and ordered the Murata transformers you advised. 8)

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 28.02.2014, 18:15

I understand.

I agree that for the normal user, it is pointless at this time. It is likely better to have it that to not. Maybe someone will find a use for it.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 28.02.2014, 18:27

rjversluis wrote:OK. :)
Until now you did a good job; Even Peter got interested and ordered the Murata transformers you advised. 8)
I think that the current transformer project will be good for Peter's business. Life is all about choices and offering two block detector solutions should be good.

I will be working on the TTL version this weekend. I will let you know what I come up with. That little add-on could be a lucrative one for Peter. I envision 1. 2, and 4 detector boards for use with the CGA-Pi02

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 02.03.2014, 06:58

I now have the final TTl version for use with a MCP23017 or MCP23008.

This will require 3 turns for the primary to detect a 10k ohm load.

This circuit works. Note the transformer part number change from the ADC version.
Attachments
zero-loss-TTL-m.PNG
zero-loss-TTL-m.PNG (32.71 KiB) Viewed 134 times

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 02.03.2014, 08:17

I suspect that a 56300C transformer will detect a 10 k ohm load with two turns for the transformer's primary.

Pics to follow

Image

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by rjversluis » 03.03.2014, 12:12

Preview:
Attachments
GCA193_pict02.jpg
GCA193_pict02.jpg (71.54 KiB) Viewed 116 times

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by Richard-TX » 03.03.2014, 12:57

That was fast and looks great too.

I was going to post a picture of mine but now I can't. Mine looks horrible in comparison.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by rjversluis » 03.03.2014, 13:00


rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Simple block detector - zero loss

Post by rjversluis » 03.03.2014, 18:14

Hi Richard,

if you force a shortcut what ADC value is reported by your I2C solution?
Or is there a threshold possible for shortcut/overload of a section?

Post Reply

Return to “DIY Hardware”