Problem connecting Intellibox with USB/comm

Post Reply
michel-zeeland

Problem connecting Intellibox with USB/comm

Post by michel-zeeland » 01.02.2010, 22:52

Hello,

The situation: Rocrail installed on vista machine, usb/com3 (19200,8,n,1, none) connected to an Intellibox IR with the following: SV1=3, SV2=2, SV3=0, SV4=0, SV5=1, SV26=0 and SV33=0.

The console tells me everytime "Couldn't access giveio device". What could be the problem? Is there something I didn't see. Attached is the trace data of Rocrail (.trc) and rocrail.ini. Maybe they are helpfull.

Is someone experienced?

best regards,
Michel
Attachments
rocrail.zip
rocrail.trc en rocrail.ini
(2.39 KiB) Downloaded 370 times

erwin24
Posts: 118
Joined: 02.01.2010, 14:35
Location: Augsburg

Post by erwin24 » 01.02.2010, 23:14

Hi,
I am using an IB vers.1 connected to com1 (19200,8,n,1,Xon/Xoff) Vista Bus.; in windows/system32 I have a giveio.sys dated 1996 (which I have just renamed to x.sys without new boot to see whether it is necessary, but RR works). - USB/com adapters may also be the source of errors.
Good luck,
Erwin

erwin24
Posts: 118
Joined: 02.01.2010, 14:35
Location: Augsburg

Post by erwin24 » 01.02.2010, 23:24

PS.: in your tracefile: "20100201.223711.578 r9999I 00000E3C OP50x 1296 iOP50x[NEW]: com3,9600,none,8,2,none" ... not 19200.
Is your rocrail.ini correct? Please in rocrail "Rocrail properties" -> controller -> IB properties ...

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39308
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 02.02.2010, 07:56

Hi,

giveio.sys is only needed for DDX.

This device driver allows direct hardware access at user level which is normally not wanted; De-install it and forget about it.

michel-zeeland

Post by michel-zeeland » 02.02.2010, 10:06

Hi,

where to find giveio.sys? I couldn't find the file on my harddrive. How to uninstall this device driver? :shock:

Michel

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39308
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 02.02.2010, 10:09

Hi Michel,

Erwin wrote this:
I am using an IB vers.1 connected to com1 (19200,8,n,1,Xon/Xoff) Vista Bus.; in windows/system32 I have a giveio.sys dated 1996 (which I have just renamed to x.sys without new boot to see whether it is necessary, but RR works). - USB/com adapters may also be the source of errors.
Forget about giveio.sys. ;-)

michel-zeeland

Post by michel-zeeland » 02.02.2010, 10:41

Hi,

ok I was just asking, because of the following strange behaviour of Rocrail. When I will program my LocoIO's in Rocrail (program-->LocoNet-->LocoIO) rocrail wouldn't react on the button "reset" or anything.

When I program the LocoIO's with the software of Hans de Looff, it works fine!

I use the Intellibox IR connected by a USB/comm cable. Intellibox does respond on switching the power.

What could be the reason?

Michel

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39308
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 02.02.2010, 13:59

I never tried an IB with LocoNet.
I user a LocoBuffer, as interface between LocoNet and computer which works very well on programming MGV50/LocoIO

The easiest way to setup locoio with rocrail is to goto to the addresses tab and do a query. Double click the wanted locoio and switch to the easy setup tab.

Post Reply

Return to “P50 and P50x”