DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post Reply
mgxtreme
Posts: 84
Joined: 02.03.2016, 23:01

DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by mgxtreme » 18.05.2019, 18:03

Hello everyone, I hope someone might be able to help.

Firstly this is my setup.
Windows 7 Laptop (32 Bit)
RocRail RocView - May 17 2019 revision 15415 (32 bit)
RocRail Server - 2.0-15415
Digikeijs DR5000 (latest Firmware), configured and connected to via RocRal over TCPIP (Loconet - LNTCP) and all other settings under the controller configuration in RocRail are default.

The issue I have is when addressing accessories (namely DCC concept point decoders) I set the address in RocRail for each point decoder for example, set the address as 8 but when you look at the controller ouput window at the bottom of RocRail the address is shows is always half that of the address set, eg: Switch is set to 8 but the outpuit appears to send 4.

The configuration of the switch in rocrail is set to the DR5000 controller and all settings are default, apart from the address is set to 8 in this example.

Any ideas please as this is proving to be a real problem when configuring the switches as they are not being set to the address Rocrail is set for.

Regards

Rob

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42339
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by rjversluis » 20.05.2019, 07:45

Hi Rob,

all depends of which addressing scheme you are using:
https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=dr ... addressing

mgxtreme
Posts: 84
Joined: 02.03.2016, 23:01

Re: DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by mgxtreme » 20.05.2019, 08:43

Hi Rob

I have tried all three addressing types as per the chart at the bottom of this page https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=ad ... sory-pg-en but none are sending the right address value.

I have 6 switches installed at the moment numbered 1 through to 6 and all are cobalt IP DCC switch motors with built in DCC decoder. From Digikeijs configuration software all were set their values and all fire ok, it is just RocRail I can't seem to get configured right.

Its just me being thick I know, but any other pointers would be great

Regards

Rob

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42339
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by rjversluis » 20.05.2019, 09:49

Hi Rob,

no further help possible without your files.
https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=issue-en

I used PADA in combination with LocoNet.

rainynight65
Posts: 15
Joined: 16.05.2018, 22:45
Location: QLD, AU

Re: DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by rainynight65 » 21.05.2019, 04:39

Hi Rob (mgextreme),

flat addressing is the correct way with the Cobalt IP motors. Intended address value in the address field, everything else is 0.

In the Digikeijs software, under Track Output -> Turnouts, what is the value of 'First turnout module address'? If it's 0, try setting it to 1.

mgxtreme
Posts: 84
Joined: 02.03.2016, 23:01

Re: DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by mgxtreme » 21.05.2019, 15:13

Must admit not sure if its fada,pada,mada but I got this to work by entering 1 in the address and then set the port number to the address of the cobalt.

Not sure if this is right and if there is a limit on how high I can go on the port number but it works up to 6 at least

Thanks for the pointers.

Regards

Rob

rainynight65
Posts: 15
Joined: 16.05.2018, 22:45
Location: QLD, AU

Re: DR5000 Accessory Address Number Issue

Post by rainynight65 » 21.05.2019, 22:46

I have 12 Cobalt motors on my layout, all addressed flat in RocRail (Address field only, no port, param or value), all working fine.

When I started installing and programming my Cobalts, I ran into a similar issue as you did, but I only started noticing it when I couldn't activate self-centering on the motors (which is done by setting them to learn mode and programming a specific address). I reached out to DCC Concepts and they pointed me at this:

https://www.dccconcepts.com/manual/an-a ... -problems/

This mainly talks about the Roco Z21, but the DR5000 can be made to behave exactly the same way, even when it is not running in Z21 mode. That's the setting I described in my previous post. If First Turnout Address in the DR5000 is set to 0, it will behave the 'Roco' way and add 4 to each accessory address, if it is set to 1, it will behave the normal way. So this is not necessarily an issue with RocRail, but could be the setting of your DR5000. You should be able to get your point motors running with flat addressing - motor address in the address field, everything else is 0.

Post Reply

Return to “Digikeijs”