Solved: srcp bug - 5300 OK

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 15:05

I think I found it Rob. It is a bug in srcpd.

If I open a info channel and leave it open, then establish a second connection and then close it without issuing any commands, srcpd starts sending lock messages out the info channel. Why this happens only with Rocrial versions > ~5300 is a mystery but that does not matter. srcpd is misbehaving.

I think this is a latent bug in srcpd.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 15:15

On the plus side the fix you applied keeps Rocrail from killing srcpd.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 15:22

I know that. It is something within srcpd. It just so happens that Rocrail has inadvertently triggered this bug in srcpd.

Don't change a thing in Rocrail.

Srcpd should behave itself no matter what and it clearly is not.

If ever there was a piece of software that is NOT ready for prime time, SRCPD is it.

This is one nasty srcpd bug. This is going to require some thought.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39295
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 08.06.2013, 15:30

Richard-TX wrote:This is one nasty srcpd bug. This is going to require some thought.
Good luck. ;-)

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 16:40

rjversluis wrote:what triggers your srcpd to send "INFO 1 LOCK GA" ?

[EDIT]
I'm using the original srcpd and it does not send your LOCK lines...
Here is what needs to happen.

1 - open a telnet session to the srcpd server port 4303 and start an info session.

2 - open a 2nd telnet session to the srcp server port 4303. Send nothing to the server.

3 - terminate the 2nd telnet session.

The original info session should have hundreds of lock messages scroll by.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 17:23

I tried it with a stripped down srcpd.conf file and all is well. There is something in my srcpd.conf that is triggering this.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 17:59

For those that care the issue is that when a connection is closed before a proper srcpd session ID has been established srcpd tries to release all GA and GL locks for session ID 0 which is an invalid session id. As a result, it runs through the entire list of possible GAs and GLs closing each one and writing a message to the info channel.

Fairly easy fix.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 18:25

try turning on srcp power Rob.

Do you get "unknown command"?

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 08.06.2013, 18:49

Here are some trace files.

look for the "unknown command for version 5394
Attachments
rocrail.008.zip
trace file version 5394
(3.34 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
rocrail.009.zip
tracefile from 5300
(5.58 KiB) Downloaded 76 times

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39295
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 08.06.2013, 22:02

Hi Richard,
I made a fix for the command port in 5401.
I got the same error on all commands...

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 09.06.2013, 03:39

Thanks Rob.

I will test later tonight.

I put in a fix for the excessive lock messages in srcpd. It was an fairly easy bug to find and fix.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 09.06.2013, 08:45

Did some testing Rob and all looks good.

thanks!

richard

Post Reply

Return to “srcp”