New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 09.01.2015, 15:42

Hi,

Current production version is 4,0.2. For non-Dutch speakers the new ECoS software version also uses a new PC interface 2,0 version. This person uses Koploper as his PC software and there are apparently some things that don't work as well. Someone suggested to use Koploper 8.5. MFX locs seem to have issues and S88 RM, akso Android apps have a problem. Of course this is probably not the final product. Asked for specs but so far no luck.

Greetings Tom

Found this in the ESU (Dutch) forum.
Momenteel heb ik af en aan de Beta2 versie van de ECoS 2 software 4.1.0 in gebruik.
Dit tezamen met Koploper 8.3.
De belangrijkste wijzigingen in 4.1 zijn, naast oude bugs verjagen, het PC interface 2.0.

Met alleen de ECoS rijden lijkt er weinig aan de hand, want die kant is niet wezenlijk veranderd.
Maar naar de PC en Koploper toe, is het nog niet koek en ei.
Aan de Duitse forumkant wordt geklaagd dat de terugmeldingen v. s88 niet werken. Dat is in Koploper niet zo, daar zie ik de meldingen normaal binnenkomen. Dat doet Koploper ondanks de ESU wijzigingen dus goed.
Wel een probleem zijn de MFX loks, die alle met adres 0 binnenkomen, waarna Koploper ze wegens adresconflikten op non-actief zet. Daarna valt er dus niet mee te rijden, en op de eerste, dus 1 lok, na worden ze uit de lok lijst geschopt.

Verder wil het in de eerste verbinding niet goed lukken, er wordt door Koploper een Access Violation gemeld, met wisselende tekst en wisselende geheugenlocatie. Misschien een gevolg van de 0 in de MFX adressen.
Maar na doordrukken op OK komt de verbinding wel tot stand als de ECoS 2 uit staat.

EDIT: De ANDROID App ECoS Controller werkt niet goed met de nieuwe versie, vermoedelijk hebben de Apple apps hetzelfde probleem.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 09.01.2015, 18:26

Hi,

An update:
nee, geen documentatie. Het wordt gewoon zo genoemd in de Notes,
" PC-Interface 2.0:
Wir haben das PC-Interface komplett neu geschrieben, und hoffen nun, das alle Probleme diesbezüglich behoben sind oder zeitnah behoben werden können."

In principe is m.i. het doel geen problemen met oude software te veroorzaken, maar wel de verwerking te versnellen.".....alle Programme im Idealfall weiterhin funktionieren sollten..."

Dat doel is nog niet gehaald, maar kan natuurlijk nog komen.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39138
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by rjversluis » 09.01.2015, 18:31

Hi Tom,

with respect, but this hurts.
I thought that ESU was a serious manufacturer...
Now I know why I could not get impressed by ESU Loco decoders; I swapped them for the cheapest Lenz decoders.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 09.01.2015, 19:04

Hi Rob,

I am not sure why it hurts! Software changes all the times, sometimes it is not backward compatible. As programmers we considered that job security, granted you have that! :P

They just started to test and I hope they get all the bugs out, maybe we can in the future see in RR, sensor, temperature, volts and ampere indications. Have booster control etc. That is not only my wish, but other forum members as well.

If you look at MCS2 you have many flavors:
Firmware Versions
Version Status Remark
2.0.1 OK -
2.1.7 - 2.2.0 Problem Delayed sensor reporting.
3.6.2 Problem The Sensors are only reported if the Model-time is set to off.
On the CS2 Menu → SETUP → Model-time → Off.


Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39138
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by rjversluis » 09.01.2015, 19:57

Hi Tom,

to implement those new functions I need a protocol.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 09.01.2015, 21:24

Rob,

It will be there!

Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39138
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by rjversluis » 09.01.2015, 21:56

The Rocrail source Tree also contains a dummy Ecos CS as Python script.
If you, or some other Ecos user can expand this with the new PC Protocol I can implement it.
Attachments
ecos.phy
(2.9 KiB) Downloaded 9 times

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 24.01.2015, 13:24

Hi,

Another tidbit I found on the ECoS forum.
However, you might want to wait a week or so, as there is a new release of the firmware 4.1.0 under development which will sort out issues with using the ECoS with computer programs like Freiwald/Railroad & Co's Traincontroller, or WinDigiPet, software.
I did not know there were problems.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39138
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by rjversluis » 24.01.2015, 13:28

Hi Tom,
smitt48 wrote:I did not know there were problems.
maybe Rocrail becomes problems with Ecos after this firmware update...

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 24.01.2015, 13:34

Hi Rob,

I have the latest version of ECoS (4.0.2 since September 2014) and I haven't seen any issues with the interface, unless the not recognition of manual input on the ECoS by RR was caused by the changed interface. I do not know what you changed to make it work again.
I asked the person that posted that statement for more info.

Regards,

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 04.02.2015, 13:02

Hi,

A quick update from ESU, the new PC specs aren't available yet. The ECoS software is also in Beta but not yet released.
smitt48 schrieb:
Do you have a timeframe, when the new PC interface will be available?
ESU answer:
Unfortunately no.

Although it is already in beta, since it has some major changes with lots of compatibility issues we can't say for sure.

Mit freundlichen Grüßen
Ihr ESU Support Team
I will keep you abreast, Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39138
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by rjversluis » 04.02.2015, 15:15

with lots of compatibility issues
Yes, we love that. :shock:
But as it is the most weird protocol I've ever seen its OK to break it.

juanfz
Posts: 12
Joined: 19.03.2012, 04:38
Location: Winchester Virginia USA

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by juanfz » 11.03.2015, 14:53

Hi:
My ECos 50200 upgraded with firmware 4.0.2 doesn't work with PC software I tried with Rocrail and Windigipet. Could it be the new PC interfase 2.0?
Should I have to wait Firmware 4.1 release to fix this problem?
Regards,
Juan

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5486
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by smitt48 » 11.03.2015, 17:15

Hi Juan,

I am running 4.0.2 since September 2014. I have no problems connecting and running with Rocrail.
New ECoS PC specifications 2.0
This reference is for the new PC interface that should come out (presumably) in the second quarter (maybe together with 4.1, they are testing the third Beta).

Send us a trace, plan and ini files to see if we can find something. What does "doesn't work" mean? Connecting, running, sensors, Locs, switches, etc,?

Thanks!

juanfz
Posts: 12
Joined: 19.03.2012, 04:38
Location: Winchester Virginia USA

Re: New ECoS PC specifications 2.0 (problems)

Post by juanfz » 11.03.2015, 20:31

Hi Tom:
Thanks for your answer.
My Ecos is connected to my home network, everything seems to be Ok. I can run trains even with my Iphone or Tablet.
When I try to run trains with Rocrail nothing happens. but, I can turn off and turn on the Ecos from Rocrail. I will send you the plan and ini files.
Regards,
Juan

Post Reply

Return to “ECoS - Marklin CS1”