(understood) Manu support

Post Reply
smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5976
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

(understood) Manu support

Post by smitt48 » 22.05.2018, 10:20

Hi Rob,

What is "Manu Support" mean in the controllers website (next to last heading item).
Some recurring values are: Y, N, -, yes, no. Is there a difference between N, no and - ?
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=controllers-en

Thanks Tom
Last edited by smitt48 on 22.05.2018, 12:18, edited 1 time in total.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41635
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Manu support

Post by rjversluis » 22.05.2018, 11:07

Hi Tom,

this means if the command station manufacturer do provide info, and or hardware, if I asked for it.
Märklin is definitive negative in this column.

A dash means: I never asked for info. -> Result is unknown.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5976
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Manu support

Post by smitt48 » 22.05.2018, 12:17

Hi Rob,

Thanks!
I thought Manu stood for "Manual"! :shock:
I changed to Manufacturer.

Tom

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5976
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: (understood) Manu support

Post by smitt48 » 22.05.2018, 16:28

Hi Rob,

I updated the wiki.
Still a question; I used superscrpit to add 4) to manufacturing support and explained it on the bottom.
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=controllers-en
Superscrpits 1-3 do not use the superscript symbols (sup) (/sup), how did you get these small numbers on the page? I tried to copy one and change, but that did not work?!

Thanks Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41635
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: (understood) Manu support

Post by rjversluis » 22.05.2018, 17:09

Hi Tom,

this is not the official Wiki way.
You can get it automatically when using double brackets like:

Code: Select all

((check this link))
instead to insert it manually.
Just test and experiment with it.

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 3991
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: (understood) Manu support

Post by RainerK » 22.05.2018, 23:10

Hi Rob,
rjversluis wrote:Hi Tom,

this is not the official Wiki way.
You can get it automatically when using double brackets like:

Code: Select all

((check this link))
instead to insert it manually.
Just test and experiment with it.
in this context I agree.

But the manual form of footnotes is very easier and better to use on pages,
where the link to the same footnote is multiple to place.
In this cases You have otherwise to repeat the possibly long text exactly in form and characters.
Also later changes of multi used footnotes are not really enjoyable in this cases. :(

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5976
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: (understood) Manu support

Post by smitt48 » 22.05.2018, 23:15

Hi Rainer,

I changed the pages and now I use (( x )). I think the end-result looks OK (the html looks a little messy), if you or Rob do not agree we can always use a prior version.
(( 4 )) is now a different link then the earlier version; before 3) and 4) used the same link. In the manufacturer support column I changed the Y and N to yes and no to be more consistent in that column.

Tom

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 3991
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: (understood) Manu support

Post by RainerK » 23.05.2018, 00:48

Hi Tom,

my comment above only refers to the disadvantages at pages with multiple use of the same footnote.

As I wrote above, in case of the page http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=controllers-en I agree
with the changes to the "Wiki way" (Robs term) of footnotes.

Therefor You should leave the footnotes in Your form like Robs proposal and do NOT restore the old revision.

Thank You.

Post Reply

Return to “General”