[solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post Reply
rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41707
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

[solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by rjversluis » 15.06.2018, 14:14

As of now, the forum can be accessed with HTTPS:

https://forum.rocrail.net

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6001
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by smitt48 » 15.06.2018, 16:10

Hi Rob,

Receive the following error

Tom
Attachments
https.PNG

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 3997
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by RainerK » 15.06.2018, 16:27

Hi Tom,

please look in the german thread of this horrible story ...
viewtopic.php?f=44&t=16045

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6001
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by smitt48 » 15.06.2018, 17:44

Hi Rainer,

I can't, it gives me a security error!

Thanks Tom

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6570
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by peter&basti » 15.06.2018, 17:46

Hi Tom,

use the old access w/o https and it works with Chrome.

apemberton
Posts: 87
Joined: 05.12.2017, 11:08
Location: West Hertfordshire, UK

Re: HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by apemberton » 15.06.2018, 18:31

Once I had added a security 'exception', I can happily read this forum using https:// and Firefox Quantum 60.0.2.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41707
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by rjversluis » 18.06.2018, 08:56

Hi,

the certificate issue is solved.
The Forum can now be used with:

https://forum.rocrail.net

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6001
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by smitt48 » 18.06.2018, 13:53

Hi Rob,

Tested with Edge, Chrome and Firefox, they all work.
The only question I have is does the automatic login still work?
Log me on automatically each visit
I have the box checked, but I have to enter my login and password each time.

Thanks Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41707
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by rjversluis » 18.06.2018, 14:20

Hi Tom,

maybe you have to delete the forum cookies?

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6001
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by smitt48 » 18.06.2018, 14:23

Hi Rob,

I doubt it. But shouldn't they be recreated after you logn?

Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41707
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by rjversluis » 18.06.2018, 14:35

Hi Tom,

how do you test auto login? I never have to login, also with https.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6001
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by smitt48 » 18.06.2018, 14:59

Hi Rob,

Normally I do not have to login either.
If not logged in then click Login, this screen appears:
login.PNG
login.PNG (5.28 KiB) Viewed 94 times
Usually with username and password filled in (cookies must work), but
the check in the box "log me on automaically each visit" is missing.

This happens every time I access the Forum (this screen is using Chrome). I have done a cold boot just to be sure.

Tom

Liviu M
Posts: 941
Joined: 03.12.2011, 20:44

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by Liviu M » 18.06.2018, 15:03

Hi Tom,

Follow the previous advice and clear the cookies. It was working for me.

Liviu

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6001
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by smitt48 » 18.06.2018, 15:07

Hi Rob, Liviu

I think I found it the links were still pointing to http (in Edge) instead off https.

I will clear all cookies none the less!

Tom

Liviu M
Posts: 941
Joined: 03.12.2011, 20:44

Re: [solved] Forum HTTPS instead of HTTP

Post by Liviu M » 18.06.2018, 16:36

Hi Tom,
You can remove only the Rocrail's cookies (at least in firefox: Preferences -> Privacy & Security -> Manage Data)
Liviu

Post Reply

Return to “General”