What is the Schedule Graph feature (Graphic Timetable) Topic is solved

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6005
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

What is the Schedule Graph feature (Graphic Timetable)

Post by smitt48 » 07.08.2015, 00:17

Hi,

Playing around with schedules and I noted the option of Graph. I can't find anything in wiki, what is this supposed to be?
graph.PNG
graph.PNG (3.19 KiB) Viewed 227 times
Thanks Tom
Last edited by smitt48 on 07.08.2015, 13:37, edited 1 time in total.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41711
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: What is the Graph feature

Post by rjversluis » 07.08.2015, 05:39

Hi Tom,

just select a schedule, change to the graph tab and click generate.
This is the graphic representation of the schedule.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6005
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: What is the Graph feature

Post by smitt48 » 07.08.2015, 12:44

Hi Rob,

Thanks!

Another question. The graph does not seem to work if the schedule is large, is it possible to scale this?
Schedule.
graph4.PNG
graph4.PNG (21.16 KiB) Viewed 202 times
2nd part of the schedule (I haven't figured out how to combine 2 pictures with Windows 10 :oops: )
graph5.PNG
graph5.PNG (6.96 KiB) Viewed 202 times
The resulting graph.
graph2.PNG
graph2.PNG (19.65 KiB) Viewed 202 times
Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41711
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: What is the Graph feature

Post by rjversluis » 07.08.2015, 13:09

Hi Tom,

I'm not sure if anyone is interested in a schedule graph which is also the reason I did not to document it.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6005
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: What is the Graph feature

Post by smitt48 » 07.08.2015, 13:37

Hi Rob,

I just documented it. :D

Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41711
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: What is the Graph feature

Post by rjversluis » 07.08.2015, 15:20

Hi Tom,
smitt48 wrote:Hi Rob,

I just documented it. :D

Tom
Tnx, but it makes no sense to document something which does not work.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6005
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by smitt48 » 07.08.2015, 16:26

Hi Rob,
I'm not sure if anyone is interested in a schedule graph
Actually, when you allow multiple schedules to be graphed at the same time, it will give you an indication where the bottlenecks are in your layout, It also would come a lot closer to a graphic representation of a timetable that some people asked for in the forum about 8-9 month ago.
scheduleTrainGraph (2).png
scheduleTrainGraph (2).png (232.22 KiB) Viewed 185 times
Rob wrote:
Tnx, but it makes no sense to document something which does not work.
I will add a note in the wiki to that effect.

Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41711
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by rjversluis » 08.08.2015, 10:04

Hi Tom,

I improved and corrected the schedule graphic in 9591.
schedule-graph-en.png
schedule-graph-en.png (136.66 KiB) Viewed 157 times
I do not think it make sense to show more then one schedule in the graph because with model railroading you will have 90% overlapping which makes the graph unusable.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6005
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by smitt48 » 08.08.2015, 12:33

Hi Rob,

Ignore my question in the previous posting!

Sorry Tom

rvooyen
Posts: 973
Joined: 08.12.2012, 11:31
Location: Netherlands (Hilversum)

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by rvooyen » 09.08.2015, 16:35

Hi,

I think I was the one to get Rob to do something on this.

In the meantime I found a very useful java version;

Sie verwenden das Bildfahrplanprogramm jTrainGraph, entwickelt von Moritz Scherzinger.

It is all in German so many of you will like that.

If you fill in all the schedule data with all absolute times in the Rocrail shcedule, then Rocrail graph will get you graphs something like Jtraingraph.
I found Jtraingraph just much simpler to use since it also has the distances, to calculate the slopes.

We cannot expect Rocrail to do EVERYthing!! :rr_for_ever:
plan.jpg
plan.jpg (82.14 KiB) Viewed 133 times
Robert

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41711
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by rjversluis » 09.08.2015, 16:40

Hi,
rvooyen wrote:We cannot expect Rocrail to do EVERYthing!!
no, but the graphic you attached does not show the wanted information to me.

rvooyen
Posts: 973
Joined: 08.12.2012, 11:31
Location: Netherlands (Hilversum)

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by rvooyen » 09.08.2015, 16:48

Depends on what you are looking for and what you want to use it for I guess.

In my case it is to design the day's schedule with all the trains I want to run, just like the real ones and
to be able to fit extra trains in whenever necessary.

This is no critique of Rocrail at all!

I also may use JMRI operations for the car forwarding, very good tool also. Rocrail will still do all the automatic controls.

Horses for courses as they say. :thumb_up:

Robert

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6005
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by smitt48 » 09.08.2015, 17:17

Hi Robert,
in my case it is to design the day's schedule with all the trains I want to run
Are you entering that every day, or just once?

My preference is that it is entered automatically. I am retired and I don't want to work! :D

Tom

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41711
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by rjversluis » 09.08.2015, 17:17

Hi Robert,

I just wanted to start it but it complains:

Code: Select all

RocrailAir:Downloads rob$ java -jar jTrainGraph_200.jar 
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: control/jTrainGraph : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass1(Native Method)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClassCond(ClassLoader.java:637)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.defineClass(ClassLoader.java:621)
	at java.security.SecureClassLoader.defineClass(SecureClassLoader.java:141)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.defineClass(URLClassLoader.java:283)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.access$000(URLClassLoader.java:58)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader$1.run(URLClassLoader.java:197)
	at java.security.AccessController.doPrivileged(Native Method)
	at java.net.URLClassLoader.findClass(URLClassLoader.java:190)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:306)
	at sun.misc.Launcher$AppClassLoader.loadClass(Launcher.java:301)
	at java.lang.ClassLoader.loadClass(ClassLoader.java:247)
But its not important because I do not understand the diagrams of this program.

rvooyen
Posts: 973
Joined: 08.12.2012, 11:31
Location: Netherlands (Hilversum)

Re: (Solved) What is the Graph feature

Post by rvooyen » 09.08.2015, 18:12

Tom,

I just have A day. One working weekday somewhere in the 1970s. I will eventually also have different days, so when operating it is not always the same. Example sept-jan is sugar campagne time. Extra beet and coal cars needed. There might be a strike at the steel works etc etc, for variation.

Then the graph shows where extra trains can run, eg without interrupting the high priority passenger trains.

You will not be able to build this automatically until Rocrail can record times at stops, which would be nice to have in the future. Also the clock is running fast and your scale distances need to be determined.

So autogen of time-distance graphs is for the (not near) future.

I run the schedules in Rocrail and hand record the stop times. The scale distances are determined based on the trains running at say 60kph or so not too fast otherwise times are too short. These times and distances are entered in jtraingraph for the graphic view.

You can do this in a spreadsheet also, but need some complex formulas, to gen. the graphs, which is why I use jtraingraph at this time.


Maybe PM if you want to discuss further.

Regards,

Robert

Post Reply

Return to “General”