Rocrail crash with BiDiB 2.0.0

http://www.opendcc.de
http://www.bidib.org
dzidek

Rocrail crash with BiDiB 2.0.0

Post by dzidek » 04.02.2013, 21:14

Hello,

Let me appologize for writing in English on the German sub-forum but all BiDiB related topics focus here.

I haven't used Rocrail for a long time, I've tried it with BiDiB equipment recently building a track plan from scratch. When all was finally set up Rocrail server crashed and kept crashing on start-up. I've tried using backup files with no effect. That was v4519 and v4581.

Today I've switched to v4618. The server started up properly with the same track plan but then crashed while I tried to run locos. And again keeps crashing on startup.

See a trace attached, please let me know shall I add more logs/info that would help to check what's wrong.


Best regards,
Dzidek
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 04.02.2013, 21:59

Just attach:

rocrail.ini
plan.xml or whatever you named it
a screenshot of the crash

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 04.02.2013, 23:45

Hi Rob,

It looks quite unpredictable - next try and Rocrail starts fine but crashes while locos are running. Yet another try and it crashes on startup.

See the files attached.


Best regards,
Dzidek
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 04.02.2013, 23:46

A screenshot of the crash:
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 05.02.2013, 07:08

Hi Dzidek,

Code: Select all

      <bidibnode uid="65640" class="bridge,sensor,dcc_loco,booster" classmnemonic="LOTB" path="0.0.0.0" vendor="13" version="2.0.0"/>
      <bidibnode uid="1040187499" class="prog,switch" classmnemonic="PS" path="1.0.0.0" vendor="13" version="0.12.5"/>
where did you get this 2.0.0 Firmware for the GBMBoost?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 05.02.2013, 07:21

Hi Dzidek,

can you provide a screen shot of the server terminal windows after it did crash and the Windows Error report. (See "Click here" in the Windows dialog.)

Can you test without "secure ack" activated?
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=bidib-en#options

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 05.02.2013, 08:22

Hi Dzidek,

you are using a pre-beta release of the GBMBoost Firmware which is not for publication nor tested by me. (Not supported.)

Wolfgang will provide me a 2.0 version as soon as he is convinced that it is usable for testing by host programmers.

Use the official Firmware until 2.0 is public.
Last edited by rjversluis on 05.02.2013, 09:10, edited 1 time in total.

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 05.02.2013, 09:09

Hi Rob,

Yes, I'm using a beta GBMBoost firmware and it looks like I made a mess unintentionally...
I'm sorry, I'll hold on.

Best regards,
Dzidek

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 05.02.2013, 09:27

Hi Dzidek,

OK.

Never the less you can supply the wanted information to find the crash cause.
Hardware Firmware should not be able to crash the Rocrail server. 8)
can you provide a screen shot of the server terminal windows after it did crash and the Windows Error report. (See "Click here" in the Windows dialog.)

Can you test without "secure ack" activated?
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=bidib-en#options

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 05.02.2013, 18:43

Hi Rob,

Here it is. Switching off Secure ACK doesn't help.

Best regards,
Dzidek
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 05.02.2013, 18:48

Hi Dzidek,

OK, its in the bidib.dll.
Can you click on the "To view technical information..." and post the result here?

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 05.02.2013, 21:41

Hi Rob,

I can't copy text from this window. If you're looking for specific piece of info there - let me know, I'll check it.

I don't have any debugging tools. There's a temp dump file stored but it's locked and deleted when I close the Error Report window.

Best regards,
Dzidek
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.02.2013, 07:06

Hi Dzidek,

are you sure it does not load older DLLs from previous installations of Rocrail?

Can you copy the content of the Text area, "The following information about your process...", with Ctrl+a, Ctrl+c and then paste it in a text editor with Ctrl+v.

BTW: I received today the 2.0 firmware for GBMBoost+GBM16.

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 06.02.2013, 12:46

Hi Rob,

Maybe this info would provide some explanation:

On Windows XP, a crash window with the following message is displayed: "abcd.exe has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."
the crash window offers the user to send the crash report to Microsoft, which is somewhat silly, because most of the application crashes are caused by 3-party software, and Microsoft won't be able to fix them. This crash window also allows you to view the crash report, but there is no any easy way to save the report into a file, and copy/paste of the report doesn't work either.


AFAIK, to process dumps locally you have to configure DrWatson or use 3rd party debugging tools.


Best regards,
Dzidek

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 12.02.2013, 11:33

Hi,

I could reproduce the Crash.
I fixed it, or more or less made a work around for a wrong BM port, in revision 4668.
The Firmware 2.0.0 I have will hang up my device driver when running a loco on GBM sections; It reports endlessly until the driver has a buffer overflow... I have to reboot my Mac to get it working again.

Post Reply

Return to “OpenDCC & BiDiB”