[solved] GBM 2.0 and DCC turnout switching

http://www.opendcc.de
http://www.bidib.org
dzidek

[solved] GBM 2.0 and DCC turnout switching

Post by dzidek » 06.03.2013, 10:23

Hello,

I can't make Rocrail switch turnouts. I've tried rev4759 and then 4779 without success. Setup:
- GBMBoost Var3 (internal DCC, acts as DCC centre)
- turnout decoders: DCC (not BiDiB accessories like the LC)

It worked fine with OpenDCC Z1 as a controller. After changing to BiDiB I can't make it work. Switch settings are left at default values (except for address), I also tried modifying them but there's no change.

What am I missing?


Best regards,
Dzidek
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2013, 10:28

Hi Dzidek,

you must set the switch protocol to DCC and use revision 4779+.
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=bid ... _accessory

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 06.03.2013, 10:37

Hi Rob,

Ok, thanks.
I've already tried changing the protocol to DCC but only with rev4779.
Looking at Rocrail Revision Info I though the crucial change was made in rev4777.

Best regards,
Dzidek

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 06.03.2013, 11:04

Hi Dzidek,

try revision 4794+.

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 07.03.2013, 15:35

Hi Rob,

I've tried rev4799 and still no success. Switch protocol is set to DCC.


Best regards,
Dzidek

PS. Address/occupancy feedback doesn't work either (UIDs changed), but that's a subject for another thread.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

opendcc
Posts: 137
Joined: 08.01.2009, 22:03

Post by opendcc » 07.03.2013, 16:34

Hello,

in line 884 there is an accessory message:
09 01 00 02 65 00 00 80 19
There are several issues with this message:
:arrow: It is directed to Node 01 - this is probably not the DCC generator, but another node. This node will ingore the message. And there is no ACK in the log (logically).
:arrow: There are four parameters (00 00 80 19) it should have been five. (
1:addrl, 2:addrh, 3:data(aspect), 4:time_l, 5:time_h)

What does DCC accessory 0:1 set mean?

HTH and best regards

Wolfgang

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 07.03.2013, 16:55

Hi Wolfgang,
TIME_L, TIME_H Schaltzeit
Wert Bedeutung
1..63 Schaltzeit = Wert * 10ms
64..127: Schaltzeit = (Wert-32) * 20ms
128..254: Schaltzeit = (Wert-80) * 40ms
Damit lassen sich Zeiten von 10ms bis 6960ms einstellen.
Sorry I only looked at the possible values and concluded one byte for timing.
DCC accessory 0:1 set
DCC accessory UID:(Port+1)

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 07.03.2013, 18:29

It is directed to Node 01
That is the first reported class_switch if uid(bus) is not set properly for this switch object.

spaceduck
Posts: 342
Joined: 26.09.2012, 07:42
Location: Bayern

Post by spaceduck » 10.03.2013, 18:45

Hi Rob,

I'm facing the same problem like Dzidek. But i can set the turnout at least in one direction (straight in my case). Then it will never switch back unless i operate this turnout with a seperate MFT Throttle (connected via Xpressnet @ GBMBoost) which works fine in both directions. The DCC address from the turnout is 201. The log shows me:

Switch [201] will be set to [straight,0,1]
switch 0:201 straight
DCC accessory 0:201 set
------------------------------------------------
Switch [201] will be set to [turnout,0,1]
switch 0:201 turnout
DCC accessory 0:202 set

Jan
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 10.03.2013, 19:44

Hi Jan,

I need some help because I do not have a DCC Switch decoder to test and I do not really understand how to switch coil 1 and coil 2 with the BiDIB protocol.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 10.03.2013, 20:25

I found a DCC decoder in the electronics archive; How to program it?
http://opendcc.de/elektronik/opendecode ... chalt.html
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 10.03.2013, 21:50

Hi Rob,

Nice joke :-)


Rob, Wolfgang,

Gentlemen, could you please spend 5 minutes (virtually) together and just make bloody turnouts switch? It seems not testing your work with each other's equipment is part of your pride :-)


Best regards,
Dzidek

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 10.03.2013, 21:53

Hi Jan,

can you test revision 4820+?

dzidek

Post by dzidek » 11.03.2013, 08:39

Hello,

Rev4822: still nothing, trace attached.

Best regards,
Dzidek
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42383
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 11.03.2013, 08:50

Code: Select all

20130311.083226.296 r9999c cmdr00E9 OSwitch  0907 Switch [sw_01] will be set to [turnout,0,0]
20130311.083226.296 r9999c 00000564 OBiDiB   0503 switch 0:0 turnout
Switch addressing in Rocrail starts with 1, not zero.

You should set the bus to the right UID and the switch address > 0...

Post Reply

Return to “OpenDCC & BiDiB”