Burned Signal coil part 2 Topic is solved

fnielsen

Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by fnielsen » 08.11.2015, 09:07

Hi

Nearly a month ago i postet that my semaphore signal coil from Märklin melted.
http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php?f=28&t=10247

I got some good replies, but they didnt solve the problem. But some of the replies made me continuing testing and here is what i'm struggeling with.

My layout is controlled by Intellibox2 with som old Märklin K83 and K84 but also new Uhlenbrock servo decoders. The Intellibox2 was setup according to the wiki in rocrail.

What happens?:
When i switch the ”Power” on everything is ok.

When i switch the ”Auto Mode” on, all my signals and switches lock and i can hear humming from the coils. I then manually switch each of the signals and switches and they unlock and the humming stops.

And that is why my coil from my old post was burned. It was related to at track that i didnt use for a while and since it was not activatet and that way unlocked it slowly meltet in the coil. And im also afraid that some of my swich engines died the same way......

Hope someone can help me

Regards

Martin

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by Besra » 08.11.2015, 10:42

Hi Martin,

without your files, at least the rocrail.ini, I don't know how to help...

Best regards
Besra

fnielsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by fnielsen » 08.11.2015, 10:56

ups!!!... Sorry
Attachments
plan.xml
(341.29 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
rocview.ini
(917 Bytes) Downloaded 5 times

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by Besra » 08.11.2015, 10:58

Hi Martin,

please, the rocrail.ini, not the rocview.ini :wink:

Regards
Besra

fnielsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by fnielsen » 08.11.2015, 13:55

oh god... its going to be a long sunday... :shock:
Attachments
plan.xml
(337.72 KiB) Downloaded 6 times
rocrail.ini
(3.44 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by Besra » 08.11.2015, 14:36

Hi Martin,

at first glance your settings are correct. So I have no real idea of what is going wrong :oops:
How are the switch timings set inside your IB2 (minimum and maximum switch time)?

Best regards
Besra

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6008
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by smitt48 » 08.11.2015, 14:43

Hi Martin,

You can also select this option:

Hjælp --> Problem

The subdirectory "issues" contains all the data needed. Just zip and attach.

Greetings Tom

fnielsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by fnielsen » 08.11.2015, 17:12

Besra... thank your for your answer. The intellibox is like the wiki says.

And Tom. I dont understand your answer..

regards
Martin

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6008
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by smitt48 » 08.11.2015, 17:21

Hi Martin,

It was just meant as a helpful hint!
In the Menu balk you have an option of "Help". Now select "Problem" and all the required files needed for resolution of your problem, are created in a sub-directory called "issues". Zip these files and add to your forum post.

When you do it this way you will never again post the wrong files such as the rocview.ini instead of the rocrail.ini.

Greetings Tom

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by Besra » 08.11.2015, 17:51

Hi Martin,
The intellibox is like the wiki says.
Min. Switch time = 300
Max. Switch time = 300?

If so, I'm sorry to say I have no further ideas at the moment.

Best regards
Besra

mith
Posts: 596
Joined: 26.04.2012, 20:01
Location: Niedersachsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by mith » 08.11.2015, 23:06

Hello Martin,

first I would set minimum and maximum switch time to different values, the minimum is, what is needet to surly switch all elements, the maximum is a safety setting.
I entered 200 / 250 ms here. My decoders switch off at 300 ms by hardware own property independent of the IB.

And here is the point:
If - due to wich reason ever - only the on-command is sent from the IB to the decoder and /or the off command is missing or lost and there is no security curcuit in the decoder, the coil will not be turned off ... and melted.

I don´t know the specifications of K83/84 - and how much You already have in use. But if a decoder does not switch off the coils after a defined period of time, independent of the controlling device, it will not take a long time, until the total costs of all damaged devices will rise higher than the cost of new decoders....

For example: by one and test it. If it works for You, order some more.

Rocrail always sends both the on- and off-commands to the CS. You can therefor set the switching time parameters in RR too, and they schould be a bit less or equal to the values in the IB. The IB will stop working when only an on-command is fired from the program, since its in-Buffer will be filled and the communication stops.
But after that You are even no more able to control manually until a hard reset of the IB.

Since this is not the case here, the issue from my point of view is not to search in RR or the IB.


Best regards

Michael

fnielsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by fnielsen » 09.11.2015, 06:16

Tom. Now i understand. Thank you - i will do that in the future

besra. Yes thats the values in the IB2

Michael. And that is excactly the problem... Im concidering 2 things. Buy other decoders or change to another program... the firs one is so far my priority.

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3754
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by Besra » 09.11.2015, 10:09

Hi Martin,

could you please readout the values of Special Options (SO) 22, 25 and 907 of the IB and post them here?

Regards
Besra

mith
Posts: 596
Joined: 26.04.2012, 20:01
Location: Niedersachsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by mith » 09.11.2015, 13:43

Hello Martin,
Martin wrote:And that is excactly the problem... Im concidering 2 things. Buy other decoders or change to another program... the firs one is so far my priority.
Now, the only option is No. 1. Since all Programs use the same protocols to control the IB - as even Rocrail does - , a different software will not help at all.
I use an IB1 and decoders with a protecting curcuit and have no problems.

Best Regards

Michael

fnielsen

Re: Burned Signal coil part 2

Post by fnielsen » 11.11.2015, 05:37

Hey Michael

Im sorry to say but i downloaded a trial of another program some days ago, and unfortunatly i have no problems there..... :cry:

Post Reply

Return to “Signal Systems”