Solved - LDT Signal Decoder and DCC Topic is solved

Post Reply
KPeter
Posts: 123
Joined: 30.09.2014, 03:27

Solved - LDT Signal Decoder and DCC

Post by KPeter » 27.12.2018, 18:47

I have a CS2 and a LDT Signal Decoder LS-DEC-DB-G. If I configure the decoder for one of the CS2 lower addresses in Motorola protocol I can control a 3 aspect signal properly in both the CS2 and Rocrail.

If I change the configuration of the decoder to handle DCC at one of the higher CS2 addresses that support DCC only, I can get the correct operation on the CS2, but only get 2 aspects controlling from Rocrail even with the NMRA-DCC protocol selected.

Is there something else that needs to be set in Rocrail in order to get proper aspect control for these higher DCC addresses?

Thanks
Peter
Last edited by KPeter on 28.01.2019, 00:48, edited 1 time in total.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5844
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: LDT Signal Decoder and DCC

Post by smitt48 » 03.01.2019, 19:30

Hi Peter,

Set all 3 aspects of your signal and create an issue.
https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=issue-en

Tom

KPeter
Posts: 123
Joined: 30.09.2014, 03:27

Re: LDT Signal Decoder and DCC

Post by KPeter » 03.01.2019, 21:14

Hi Tom,

Happy New Year in Bonaire. Beautiful Island.

I have set the wiring, jumpers and addresses back to Motorola protocol in order for it to function properly from both the CS2 and Rocrail. I will have to wait for the new signals and decoder to arrive before I try it again and create an issue.

I'm not really sure what the Issue will show since when I did try the DCC protocol, the CS2 operated all 3 aspects properly and the Rocview track plan showed the signal switching between Hp0 to Hp1 to Hp2 but the actual output to the signal only switched between Hp0 and Hp1 or between Hp1 and Hp2 depending on the Port red and green settings in a continuous 2 aspect mode. It never displayed the 3rd aspect. Thus, none of the aspects showed properly 50% of the time.

Anyway, once I get the new devices I will try again.

Regards
Peter

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5844
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: LDT Signal Decoder and DCC

Post by smitt48 » 03.01.2019, 23:43

Hi Peter,

Rob changed, earlier this week, something in the 3 aspects signals settings. Maybe it helped your issue as well.
viewtopic.php?f=45&t=17031&p=186008#p186008 in German
Tom

KPeter
Posts: 123
Joined: 30.09.2014, 03:27

Re: LDT Signal Decoder and DCC

Post by KPeter » 28.01.2019, 00:48

The fix that was made for the 3 aspect signals fixed a previous problem where I had to invert the yellow and green addresses in order to get the correct aspect. I have been able to change them back to the proper addressing.

The new signals and decoders arrived and I again made the same test. It still didn't find the 3rd aspect and continuously switched between 2 aspects when on NMRA-DCC protocol, yet worked perfectly on Motorola format. So for the NMRA-DCC protocol I switched from Default control to Linear control and used the aspect numbers. This worked. So I can now use either Motorola or DCC for my signals through the LDT decoder, but I have to change the programming from Port addressing for Motorola to Linear Aspect addressing for DCC.

Peter

Post Reply

Return to “Signal Systems”