ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post Reply
idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 18.01.2015, 21:16

I have defined a ground semaphore signal from the UK theme. The physical signal is driven by an accessory decoder. If I click on it the image it changes from set to normal on the layout diagram as expected but it does not change the physical signal. If I use actions or right mouse click / command I can set it to "red/green" and the physical signal changes correctly, but not visually on the layout diagram. Is this a limitation because the ground signal uses aspects or have a defined it incorrectly? SIgnal definition below. Thanks.

Code: Select all

<sg type="semaphore" signal="shunting" id="sg8" x="9" y="4" z="0" state="red" manual="false" aspect="0" ori="east" porttype="0" prev_id="sg8" desc="" blockid="" road="false" routeids="" manualreset="true" iid="" uidname="" bus="0" addr="0" addr2="0" addr3="0" addr4="0" port1="0" port2="0" port3="0" port4="0" gate1="0" gate2="0" gate3="0" gate4="0" prot="D" aspects="2" symbolprefix="disc_" dwarf="false" usesymbolprefix="true" usepatterns="0" inv="false" pair="false" asswitch="false" accessory="true" cmdtime="0" green="0" red="0" yellow="0" white="0" blank="0" greennr="0" rednr="0" yellownr="0" whitenr="0" blanknr="0" copy="false"/>

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 19.01.2015, 07:50

Hi Dave,

can you attach your plan.xml and rocrail.ini?

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 19.01.2015, 10:02

plan and ini attached, thanks Rob
Attachments
rocrail.ini
(3.02 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
plan.xml
(70.23 KiB) Downloaded 6 times

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 19.01.2015, 17:08

Hi Dave,

can you provide the symbols used for signal 7 and 8?
Attachments
Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 17.07.53.png
Screen Shot 2015-01-19 at 17.07.53.png (135.14 KiB) Viewed 307 times

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 20.01.2015, 18:46

They are from the standard UK theme. You have to place that theme above the default one to get UK signals to display.

Here they are in rocview.ini

Code: Select all

<planpanel ... 
svgpath="C:\Program Files (x86)\Rocrail\svg\themes\UK" 
svgpath2="C:\Program Files (x86)\Rocrail\svg\themes\SpDrS60" 
svgpath3="." svgpath4="." svgpath5="." .../>

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 25.01.2015, 10:57

Hi Rob,
Is there anything else you need from me?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 25.01.2015, 11:34

Hi Dave,

that a user defined Theme.
You must test it with the official SpDrS60 theme first to exclude problems.

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 25.01.2015, 17:55

Thanks Rob,I'll try it without the UK theme and report back.

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 26.01.2015, 09:07

It works properly if you leave out the UK theme. There must be some issue with the UK signals theme SVG. Do you have any suggestions on how to debug SVG?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 26.01.2015, 10:45

idlemarvel wrote:It works properly if you leave out the UK theme. There must be some issue with the UK signals theme SVG. Do you have any suggestions on how to debug SVG?
OK, then we have to compare the Standard SVGs with the UK Theme.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 26.01.2015, 10:51

Hi,

you cannot use the prefix for simple signals:
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=sig ... -en#prefix

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 26.01.2015, 11:45

You should rename the disc signals to drawf type:

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=sym ... rf_signals

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 26.01.2015, 20:52

Thanks Rob. So now the UK theme works if you leave out the prefix, but unfortunately the previous advice from the author (Suzie) is that I need to specify a prefix of disc_ to get the red on white disc to display (which is the one I want) rather than the default yellow on black. See here http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php? ... 529#p75877

The filenames of the yellow on black disc are semaphoreshunting-2-r.svg / semaphoreshunting-2-w.svg which work okay.

The filenames of the red on white disc are disc_signalaspect-0.svg / disc_signalaspect-1.svg which don't work properly.

According to the naming conventions in your last post the semaphoreshunting names are correct, so I am guessing Suzie has tried some workaround to provide two different kinds of 2 aspect semaphore shunting signals by calling the second version multi-aspect signals, in this case 2 aspect, with a prefix of disc_

If prefixes are not supported, what names should I uses for the red on white disc alternative signal?

Thanks, Dave. BTW I am learning a lot about SVG themes in this thread! :-)

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41187
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by rjversluis » 26.01.2015, 21:49

If prefixes are not supported, what names should I uses for the red on white disc alternative signal?
Dwarf type?

idlemarvel
Posts: 89
Joined: 22.10.2014, 09:11

Re: ground signals not visually changing if set by action

Post by idlemarvel » 27.01.2015, 21:30

I have come up with a workaround.
I defined the alternative semaphore shunting signals as dwarf main signals, as suggested by Rob.
I renamed disc_signalaspect-0.svg to signalmain-dwarf-r.svg etc in the theme directory.
For the signal properties / details I selected Light signal / Main signal / Dwarf signal
I wanted to set just 2 aspects as the ground signal I am representing only has 2 states, but if I set the aspect number to 2 the images reverted to the default theme signals from SpDrS60. This is consistent with the wiki entry http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=sym ... rf_signals which says signalmain-dwarf are 3 or 4 aspect signals. (I did try to "Force multi aspects" but the image just disappears.)
So my workaround was to define all four aspects -g -r -y -w but make yellow the same image as green and white the same image as red. This means if you click the signal it goes on-off-on-off as required.

Post Reply

Return to “Signal Systems”