Start-up problems with Hornby Elite

OllyGoodchild

Start-up problems with Hornby Elite

Post by OllyGoodchild » 14.04.2010, 10:18

I am completely new to railway modelling and have very limited computer programming experience.
My system is a Hornby Elite (+ 1.3 software) controlling a small shunting yard (all Hornby) and am comparing JMRI and Rocrail (Under windows XP).
I created my layout in rocview and modified rocrail.ini as per the web links.
All seems to be in order but when I try to change points I get the message "Interface ID not set". Have added Interface ID to points properties but that makes no difference.
Possible clue -- on the rocrail screen on start-up one of the messages refers to failure to load xpressnet.dll. Do I need to instal this file. It does not seem to instal with Rocrail.
Many thanks for any advice.
Olly Goodchild
Attachments
olly1.xml
(11.57 KiB) Downloaded 279 times
rocrail.ini
(1.17 KiB) Downloaded 369 times

ron&bram

Post by ron&bram » 14.04.2010, 12:05

Hi Olly,

The "interface id not set" means that Rocrail is not able to find the driver for the command station. This yhas all to do with the message that it could not load xpressnet.dll. You do not have to install anything, but you need to make sure that all the .dll files that came with the Rocrail package are in the same directory as where you start Rocrail.

Best regards, Ronald

OllyGoodchild

Post by OllyGoodchild » 14.04.2010, 16:15

Hi Ronald,
Thank you for the prompt reply.
The Rocrail & Rocview exe's plus dll's are in the Prog Files/Rocrail folder. There is no xpressnet.dll but there is a lenz.dll (Hornby is a subset of Lenz ??)
The log(trace) files, ini files and layout files are in a My Docs/Rocrail folder.
I used the computer to update the Elite software (firmware ??) to 1.3 so there is obviously a driver hiding on the computer somewhere. I have done a search for xpressnet.dll but there isn't one.