Rocrail install problems  [✔]

lgrfbs
Posts: 60
Joined: 11.07.2016, 14:57
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by lgrfbs » 07.11.2018, 15:41

rjversluis wrote:Hi Richard,

update first:
https://wiki.rocrail.net/rocrail-snapshot/

In the last few days we changed the Windows Installer to put all files in User Space.
De-Install before using the new installer.
Why is this change made?
I tried to upgrade Rocrail as usual to "C:/applications Files (x86)/Rocrail" but got some error message about rights missing, so I had to install in "C:/Users/{username}/AppData/Local/Programs/Rocrail " To install would work. The AppData folder is not meant for software installations but for supporting files to software.
When the installation was almost finished I got a dialog box from Microsoft fire wall about allowing access to the network, what was it about?

Edit:
Installed: rocrail-14193-win32
Tested: rocrail-14560-win32

Suzdal
Posts: 29
Joined: 17.07.2017, 18:43
Location: Normandy, France

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by Suzdal » 08.11.2018, 21:42

I agree with your comments, programs should go in the Program File directories. When I was told this back in July I was surprised. It was however my first attempt of using Rocrail and I was a bit shy on other things except the problems I was facing. The above not being part of them.

I do however like the software.

cds
Moderator
Posts: 4953
Joined: 03.02.2012, 19:24
Location: Tullnerbach, Austria

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by cds » 09.11.2018, 09:26

Hello!
Why is this change made?
As I understand to run RR in user context, not in admin context.
I tried to upgrade Rocrail as usual to "C:/applications Files (x86)/Rocrail" but got some error message about rights missing, so I had to install in "C:/Users/{username}/AppData/Local/Programs/Rocrail "
One still has the option to install RR in the old fashioned way. Just right click on the installation file and "Run as Administrator ..." (change the installation path).
When the installation was almost finished I got a dialog box from Microsoft fire wall about allowing access to the network, what was it about?
Whenever I've installed RR the first time on a windows computer I got this dialog box. RR is a client/server architecture thus communicating over network ports which need to get permission.

Rob, please correct me if I'm wrong.

casperdeboer
Posts: 53
Joined: 12.02.2017, 21:46

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by casperdeboer » 23.12.2018, 07:12

Hi

Iam having problems under linux min18 with version 14731 it installs properly but when i click server orview icon nothing happens. i also had the same problem with mint 17 so i upgraded it to 18 but still nothing happens.

Casper

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39129
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by rjversluis » 23.12.2018, 08:32

Hi Casper,
casperdeboer wrote:
23.12.2018, 07:12
Iam having problems under linux min18 with version 14731 it installs properly but when i click server orview icon nothing happens. i also had the same problem with mint 17 so i upgraded it to 18 but still nothing happens.
the linux installer did not change a bit.
Maybe some dependencies are missing if the server or Rocview does not start.
Install with:

Code: Select all

sudo apt install ./rocrail*.deb
Or use synaptic to resolve dependencies.

casperdeboer
Posts: 53
Joined: 12.02.2017, 21:46

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by casperdeboer » 23.12.2018, 08:58

Hi Rob

tried it did not work still nothing even ran install as su. But it wont start up.

Casper

casperdeboer
Posts: 53
Joined: 12.02.2017, 21:46

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by casperdeboer » 23.12.2018, 08:59

i get this problem at th e end of install

N: Kan voorrechten voor het downloaden niet laten vallen, gezien bestand '/home/casper/Downloads/rocrail-14731-ubuntu1804-i386.deb' niet door gebruiker '_apt' kon benaderd worden. - pkgAcquire::Run (13: Toegang geweigerd)


CAsper

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39129
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by rjversluis » 23.12.2018, 10:34

Casper,

you should use "sudo" otherwise your apt command will be rejected. (13)
Some Linux knowhow is expected.

casperdeboer
Posts: 53
Joined: 12.02.2017, 21:46

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by casperdeboer » 25.12.2018, 05:05

Hi Rob

i used sudo and i have some linux experience and know how. But still when i trie to start rocrail nothing happens.

Casper

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 39129
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Rocrail install problems

Post by rjversluis » 25.12.2018, 07:25

Hi Casper,

then you should check the dependencies.
Open a terminal and try this:

Code: Select all

ldd /opt/rocrail/rocview
http://man7.org/linux/man-pages/man1/ldd.1.html

casperdeboer
Posts: 53
Joined: 12.02.2017, 21:46

Re: Rocrail install problems  [✔]

Post by casperdeboer » 26.12.2018, 07:02

hi Rob

Problem is solfed i used an other rocrail download and this one workd fine.

CAsper

Post Reply

Return to “Installation”