NCE Power cab DCC controller

Post Reply

Are you interestet in NCE support?

Yes, I have a NCE system
7
70%
I am planning a NCE system.
3
30%
 
Total votes: 10

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE Power cab DCC controller

Post by Chris benadie » 14.06.2009, 10:53

Hi
Can anybody tel me if rocrail can connect to NCE Power cab

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 14.06.2009, 10:59

Hi Chris,

NCE is at the moment not supported.

If there is enough interest a start could be made to implement support.

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE Power cab DCC controller

Post by Chris benadie » 14.06.2009, 15:45

That will be great i have bought a NCE in the UK on a visit there back in south africa now.I find the Rocrail more user friendly interface.

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE Power cab DCC controller

Post by Chris benadie » 14.06.2009, 15:47

That will be great i have bought a NCE in the UK on a visit there back in south africa now.I find the Rocrail more user friendly interface.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 14.06.2009, 16:08

OK, I added a poll for checking the interest for NCE support.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 30.06.2009, 08:05

Hi,

I added a Wiki page for NCE:

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=trunk:nce-en

Please edit or post here if some information is missing.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: NCE Power cab DCC controller

Post by rjversluis » 30.06.2009, 09:21

Hi Chris,
Chris benadie wrote:That will be great i have bought a NCE in the UK on a visit there back in south africa now.I find the Rocrail more user friendly interface.
Are you willing to test when I implement support for NCE?
Do you have a computer connection on your NCE Powerhouse?

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE Power cab ROCRAIL

Post by Chris benadie » 30.06.2009, 15:12

Yes i am willing to test when I implement support for NCE?
I Do you have a computer connection (NCE usb interface connected to JMRI presently)
Thanks
Chris :D

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 30.06.2009, 16:32

Hi Chris,

an alpha version is commited in revision 609.

What is implemented:
- trackpower on/off
- switch command
- loco speed command
- loco function group 1
- polling AIU's
All is untested because I do not have a NCE system available.

The USB interface does not support all commands as far as I know?

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE Power cab ROCRAIL

Post by Chris benadie » 01.07.2009, 06:18

Hi Rob,

Firstly i am fairly new to the capabilities of the USB INTERFACE.

Could you explain
alpha version is commited in revision 609. ???

The following is implemented:
- trackpower on/off .This does not seem to function(On the JMRI THROTTLE there is a POWER ON/OFF )
- switch command
- loco speed command (WORKS)
- loco function group 1 (Lights,horns F1 to F14)
- polling AIU's ? not sure what this is ??

Regards i hope this helps

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 01.07.2009, 07:04

Hi Chris,

the revision means a source version in the repository.
There are nightly builds available for Windows, but if you need a Linux snapshot I can make one for you.

This is the latest Windows snapshot of repository revision 610:
http://rocrail.saturnus.it/unicode/rocr ... nicode.exe

Oops... I just see that this setup does not contain the nce.dll !

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 01.07.2009, 07:20

Hi Chris,

this one contains the nce.dll

http://rocrail.net/software/rocrail-sna ... nicode.exe

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: NCE Power cab ROCRAIL

Post by rjversluis » 01.07.2009, 07:49

Hi Chris,

did you test with Rocrail? Did you compile your self?
Chris benadie wrote: - polling AIU's ? not sure what this is ??
An AIU is the NCE unit for reporting current sense detections.
To be able to run in auto mode you must have blocks with detection sections.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42033
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: NCE Power cab ROCRAIL

Post by rjversluis » 01.07.2009, 08:11

Hi Chris,
Chris benadie wrote: Firstly i am fairly new to the capabilities of the USB INTERFACE.
:
- trackpower on/off .This does not seem to function(On the JMRI THROTTLE there is a POWER ON/OFF )
The USB interface only support a sub set of the Powerhouse RS232 interface commands.
Power ON/OFF is an example which is not supported on the USB interface.

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE Power cab ROCRAIL

Post by Chris benadie » 01.07.2009, 10:25

Hi
I have installed rocrail .exe which i downloaded from the link.
I then selected NCE from the controller menu,
IT HAS OPTIONS HARDWARE FLOW: DEFAULT CTS
BAUDRATE : SET TO 9600
PORT : COM13

BUT THE APPLY BUTTON IS DISABLED WHEN I PRESS OK :
ERROR EN-NCE NOT FOUND

Post Reply

Return to “Installation”