NCE Power cab DCC controller

Post Reply

Are you interestet in NCE support?

Yes, I have a NCE system
7
70%
I am planning a NCE system.
3
30%
 
Total votes: 10

dadolphs
Posts: 1426
Joined: 22.02.2008, 06:45
Location: Solingen
Contact:

Post by dadolphs » 10.07.2009, 07:20

Hi Chris,

http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php?t=993

Best regards,
Dirk :rr_cap:

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42001
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 10.07.2009, 07:20


Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

Post by Chris benadie » 14.07.2009, 05:41

Hi Doug
Thank you for the update.Well as you said its hard to beat the price,i went to visit my son in the UK ,when i bought the NCE Power Cab.
I also have a Dynamis infra controller (Bachmann) but to connect to my computer i needed the pro box which i could not find ,and it cost more then the NCE.
Being a pensioner i bought the NCE including the USB interface for the same price.The rocrail guys did a great job to get the NCE to work.
My next step is to buy DCC controllers for my turnouts(i use atlas and Hornby).
Regards
Chris

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB Ubuntu 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 18.07.2009, 07:37

Hi Rob
I have installed rocrail for Ubuntu on my linbux PC. (rev225-act-ubuntu8.04-386.deb).
Note: This is Ubuntu 9.04 it installed no problem but i notice NCE is not under the controllers ,am i overlooking it ?.
Regards
Chris

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42001
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 18.07.2009, 07:54

Hi Chris,

the 1.2 'Act' version does not support the NCE, you must use a new snapshot of 1.3.
But currently there is no snapshot which has the support; I will create one and report later.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42001
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 18.07.2009, 08:02


Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB Ubuntu 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 18.07.2009, 09:14

Thanks
I will give it a try
Chris

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB UBUNTU 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 18.07.2009, 12:45

Hi Rob
I have installed it ,selected NCE under contollers what port setting must i use.
Chris

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42001
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 18.07.2009, 12:47

Hi Chris,

probably
/dev/ttyUSB0
(case sensitive)

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB UBUNTU 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 18.07.2009, 13:11

Rob
OK connected /dev/ttyUSB3.
I setup loco no response
Chris

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42001
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 18.07.2009, 13:16

HI Chris,

as usual: trace please. ;-)

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB UBUNTU 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 19.07.2009, 09:50

Hi Rob
Got myself in a tangle.I got the connection to NCE .This was done with ubuntu from a disk.
I installed ubuntu 9.04 ,then tried again to install rocrail 1.3 with package manager.
I get error message " Error: Dependency is not satisfiable: libwxgtk2.8-0" and install packages button disabled.
Then tried via terminal fails to install "sudo apt-get install libwxgtk2.8-0'


Chris

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB UBUNTU 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 19.07.2009, 12:43

Hi Rob
Ok i managed to install wxwidgets and the rocrail ,made a connection (/dev/ttyusb0).
No movement .Attached is the roctrace file.
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Chris benadie
Posts: 57
Joined: 24.04.2009, 14:20
Location: South Africa

NCE POWER CAB UBUNTU 9.04

Post by Chris benadie » 19.07.2009, 12:45

Hi Rob
Ok i managed to install wxwidgets and the rocrail ,made a connection (/dev/ttyusb0).
No movement .Attached is the roctrace file.
Chris
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

ron&bram
Posts: 2460
Joined: 11.06.2008, 19:34
Location: Heemskerk, Netherlands

Post by ron&bram » 22.07.2009, 10:18

Hi Chris,

In the trace file I see the following appearing:

Code: Select all

poller   ONCE     0520 NCE Software revision 6.3.0
From this I think that there is communication between Rocrail and the NCE. The reason that nothing goes comes probably from the fact that in the Rocrail properties, tab controller, two commands stations are defined, the first one is the virtual named vcs-1 and the second one the NCE named NCE CHRIS. For every object (loc, turnout etc) that has an empty interface id Rocrail sends the command to the first command station defined, in this case the virtual station, meaning only virtual actions taking place. Delete the vcs-1 entry under the controller tab, restart Rocrail and check what happens.

Best regards, Ronald

Post Reply

Return to “Installation”