please explain the point switch times

Moderator: dadolphs

Post Reply
rvhoeijen
Posts: 24
Joined: 23.04.2018, 18:29
Location: Enschede Nederland

please explain the point switch times

Post by rvhoeijen » 24.05.2018, 20:41

I have some issues with the switch times. In the Rocrail properties the is a fields with the switch time of points normally set to 100 msec or so. Also a field for the route switch time is available set to 500 msec. I found another switch time in the loconet properties of my loconet controller. And by each switch definition there is a possible entry for a switch time.

What is would like to know is the relation between these different variables.
Also how will rocrail behave when it has send out a switch request. Is it possible to have multiple switch requests pending on can there only be one and the next will be send after the route switch time, or is it possible to have multiple routes in parallel.

Hopefully somebody can answer my questions. Thanks in advance

Regards Rob

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41142
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: please explain the point switch times

Post by rjversluis » 25.05.2018, 06:36

Hi Rob,

the route switch time is the interval between the switch commands.
The switch timer is used as deactivation time of the coil, to prevent over heating it.

rvhoeijen
Posts: 24
Joined: 23.04.2018, 18:29
Location: Enschede Nederland

Re: please explain the point switch times

Post by rvhoeijen » 25.05.2018, 09:34

to rjversluis
Thanks for the reply.
I still have a question left
Does this means that there will be only one switch command outstanding or is it possible to have one command per route.
So if there are 4 locs, each having a route there are possibly four switch commands simultaneously.
regards Rob

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41142
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: please explain the point switch times

Post by rjversluis » 25.05.2018, 10:06

as long as you do not set the sync option,
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=roc ... ize_routes
the route commands will be parallel.
But many 'command stations' cannot handle to much DCC/MM switch commands parallel.
This is also the reason why there are three options for those slow, too small command buffer, command stations.

rvhoeijen
Posts: 24
Joined: 23.04.2018, 18:29
Location: Enschede Nederland

Re: please explain the point switch times

Post by rvhoeijen » 25.05.2018, 10:52

Thanks for the explanation. I think i got the complete picture.
I think that to get the command-stations capabilities can only be found by trail and error
best regards Rob

Post Reply

Return to “Basic topics”