Representing objects on different panel

Moderator: dadolphs

Post Reply
kka-dk
Posts: 5
Joined: 11.12.2012, 23:56

Representing objects on different panel

Post by kka-dk » 30.09.2018, 21:41

Hi All,

Are there any way to represent an object (for instance signal, switch or sensor) on a different track panel than the one the object is defined on?

The purpose could be that one track panel is used to operate stations, and the second panel is used for cab drivers to view the status of switches and signals.

Another purpose could be to have all stations on separate panels, but in case of shortage of manpower, to have several stations combined on another panel.

Sorry if I have missed documentation or previous posts on this subject, but I couldn't find any.

Brgds.
Klaus

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41738
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Representing objects on different panel

Post by rjversluis » 01.10.2018, 06:44

Hi Klaus,

this is not possible, and not wanted.

kka-dk
Posts: 5
Joined: 11.12.2012, 23:56

Re: Representing objects on different panel

Post by kka-dk » 01.10.2018, 16:23

Hi Rob,

Thanks for the answer. May I ask why this is not wanted, and if someone might have a workaround to the use-cases I described?

Brgds. Klaus

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41738
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Representing objects on different panel

Post by rjversluis » 01.10.2018, 16:38

Hi Klaus,

you cannot put the same switch at more then one place...

hermannk
Moderator
Posts: 1062
Joined: 06.07.2014, 12:32
Location: Kiel Germany

Re: Representing objects on different panel

Post by hermannk » 01.10.2018, 18:21

Hi Klaus,
a) Rob's answer is totally correct;
-- there is a one-to-one relation between an object and the plan file;
b) Rocrail hands to you objects and functionality to solve some of your wishes:
for example:
1) with a "text" object and an action/script you can view the status of an object at a second place;
2) with an "output" object and an action/script you can control other objects.
Is this an idea or a help? (see Rocrail_0_ObjectStatusAndControl_Example.zip)
Kind regards
Hermann
Attachments
Rocrail_0_ObjectStatusAndControl_Example.zip
(5.51 KiB) Downloaded 8 times

kka-dk
Posts: 5
Joined: 11.12.2012, 23:56

Re: Representing objects on different panel

Post by kka-dk » 02.10.2018, 22:54

Hi Hermann,

Thanks a lot - that might be a start. Especially the idea about letting actions on the first object control the other object seems like a reasonable workaround.

Brgds. Klaus

Post Reply

Return to “Basic topics”