Restore from e-break

Moderator: dadolphs

Post Reply
ChristianCorradi
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.02.2019, 09:29

Restore from e-break

Post by ChristianCorradi » 17.05.2019, 11:53

I use an action to send e-brake command.
What's the opposite action command to restore the previous situation?
It is possible to sand a power off or power on command using actions?

Thanks
Christian

cds
Moderator
Posts: 5155
Joined: 03.02.2012, 19:24
Location: Tullnerbach, Austria

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by cds » 17.05.2019, 12:10

Hello Christian,
It is possible to sand a power off or power on command using actions?
Yes, see state, object = System, go-cmd or stop-cmd.

ChristianCorradi
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.02.2019, 09:29

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by ChristianCorradi » 17.05.2019, 13:12

Thanks!

Another question: if I power off the system when rr is setting a route, the turnouts on monitor continue to be switched, but the reals no.
How can I avoid it?

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6427
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by peter&basti » 17.05.2019, 13:25

Hi Christian,
if I power off the system when rr is setting a route, the turnouts on monitor continue to be switched, but the reals no.
The most reliable solution is to have (at least) 2 boosters. One for driving the locos, the 2nd for driving the switches.
In case of ebreak only the loco booster have to switch off.

Anoter best practice: I'm using complete different systems for driving and switching.
Therefore the position of the real switches is always reliable, even in case of a shortcut.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5858
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by smitt48 » 17.05.2019, 13:26

Hi Christian,

What are reals? relays?
It is better not to turn off power (only in an emergency), but first stop automatic control.
If you turn off power all electric objects will stop working, if the command station is still on, then the command send to it by Rocrail will continue to be executed.

Tom

ChristianCorradi
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.02.2019, 09:29

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by ChristianCorradi » 17.05.2019, 14:37

What are reals?
Sorry: "real turnouts"
It is better not to turn off power (
I'm not alone. Someone push power off button instead of ebreak one!
The most reliable solution is to have (at least) 2 boosters. One for driving the locos, the 2nd for driving the switches.
We have 2 boosters but they are connected to the pc by only 1 USB interface.
How can I switch off only one booster?
Anoter best practice: I'm using complete different systems for driving and switching.
How did you do that?

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6427
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by peter&basti » 17.05.2019, 15:44

Hi Christian
Anoter best practice: I'm using complete different systems for driving and switching.

How did you do that?
You can add as much central stations to Rocrail as you want, also different types

So i‘m using

- OpenDCC Bidi for the track power and sensor feedback and
- Rocnet for anything else (servo turnouts, fiddle yard, turntable, signals,...)

ChristianCorradi
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.02.2019, 09:29

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by ChristianCorradi » 17.05.2019, 16:17

How did you do that?
You can add as much central stations to Rocrail as you want, also different types
But do you have to connect them using 2 different USB ports?
We have an intellibox interface, an intellibox central station and 2 boosters!

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6427
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by peter&basti » 17.05.2019, 17:06

Hi Christian

Bidib is controlled via USB and Rocnet via LAN

Do you control your switches via DCC accessory decoders or via loconet?

ChristianCorradi
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.02.2019, 09:29

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by ChristianCorradi » 17.05.2019, 17:37

Via dcc decoders!

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6427
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by peter&basti » 17.05.2019, 19:08

Hi Christian,

in your case i suggest to connect all DCC accessory decoders to one additional booster. This may result in additional cabling effort, but you have the opportunity to except the booster who drives the accessories from power off in case of a shortcut or ebreak.

The result will be a reliable status of all switches/turnouts on your layout under any condition.

ChristianCorradi
Posts: 16
Joined: 26.02.2019, 09:29

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by ChristianCorradi » 18.05.2019, 11:11

Hi Peter,

we are using 4 boosters: 3 for different sections of the layout and 1 for the accessory decoders (turnouts and signals) but only 1 central station so, when there is a shortcut the booster sends a signal to the central station that sends a global power off command.
Where are we wrong?

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6427
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: Restore from e-break

Post by peter&basti » 18.05.2019, 15:29

Hi Christian,

try this: https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=po ... man&s[]=en

But i am not sure if your hardware supports this.

Post Reply

Return to “Basic topics”