SOLVED **Feature request** programmable ports for MCS2 lib

Märklin Central Station 2
Post Reply
woodyboy
Posts: 628
Joined: 18.11.2013, 16:01

SOLVED **Feature request** programmable ports for MCS2 lib

Post by woodyboy » 26.12.2013, 12:51

If a configure a second MCS2 with ethernet interface, Rocrail complaints that it cannot bind a socket. The original Central Station is hardcoded to use dedicated TX en Rx ports.
If the ports of the MCS2 library are programmable then it is possible to use several GFP's indepently with it's own CAN gateways and separate IID's. In this way it is fi possible to have a separate programming track based on a GFP.

If there is some interest I can post in the HW DIY forum my arduino sketches and configuration which interfaces between the GFP and Rocrail.
Last edited by woodyboy on 28.01.2014, 23:38, edited 2 times in total.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 31.12.2013, 12:33

Hi Bert,

OK, make sense.
I will add this option.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41184
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 31.12.2013, 13:19

Starting with revision 6602 the RX/TX UDP ports can be optionally set.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: **Feature request** programmable ports for MCS2 library

Post by Richard-TX » 31.12.2013, 16:31

woodyboy wrote: If there is some interest I can post in the HW DIY forum my arduino sketches and configuration which interfaces between the GFP and Rocrail.
I would love to see your sketches and configuration data Bert. :bigsmile: Please post them!

Richard

woodyboy
Posts: 628
Joined: 18.11.2013, 16:01

Post by woodyboy » 01.01.2014, 16:49

At first best wishes for 2014!

Rob, this is excellent! I've just adapted and tested my sketches. I had to leave before I could perform a full operational test, but first partly tests seems to be successful.

Both interfaces are adressed when I had configured two MCS2 controllers. No bind errors.

This change gives me, and maybe others, the possibility to control switches, sensors and trains seperately, each controlled by there own GFP.
Attachments
MCS2-S88config.jpg
The configuration of the second control station
MCS2-S88config.jpg (44.19 KiB) Viewed 96 times
mcs2config.jpg
mcs2config.jpg (44.19 KiB) Viewed 97 times

woodyboy
Posts: 628
Joined: 18.11.2013, 16:01

Post by woodyboy » 01.01.2014, 18:21

A short description and the sketches are in the DIY area. http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php?p=61230#61230

Post Reply

Return to “CS2”