Rocnet node accessory

Post Reply
Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Rocnet node accessory

Post by Richard-TX » 26.09.2013, 22:38

How we are implementing a headless Rpi, it might be useful to add a 2x16 LCD display to the I2C bus. Then various messages could be displayed even if Rocrail is not running.

Schematic:
http://rocpi.ae-tool.com/docs/pilcdplate.png


LCD displays are dirt cheap on ebay and all that is needed is a MCP23017 chip to drive it.

Kit page: http://www.adafruit.com/products/1110

Image

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 40973
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 27.09.2013, 05:37

Hi Richard,

you do know that you can use ssh from a remote computer to access a RasPi?
A display for maintenance is useless.
But it could be used for dynamic text:
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=can-gc8-en

We are also thinking about adding a PWM chip on the I2C bus, but we should not run too fast and we must be sure that the base is stable.

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6408
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by peter&basti » 27.09.2013, 12:30

Hi Richard & Rob,

The Perfect Display for dynamic text in H0 at Station Platform:

http://www.austromodell.at/index.php?si ... tegorie=53

I found it only in combination with a static Memory, hours of Research not successful.

Should be Kept in mind until the Time is right for the next Steps.
Regards,

Peter

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 28.09.2013, 15:47

rjversluis wrote:Hi Richard,

you do know that you can use ssh from a remote computer to access a RasPi?
A display for maintenance is useless.
But it could be used for dynamic text:
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=can-gc8-en

We are also thinking about adding a PWM chip on the I2C bus, but we should not run too fast and we must be sure that the base is stable.
Using SSH is just one way to access a Rpi. There are others including VNC.

While I was thinking about a I2C bus connected display for diagnostic purposes, a micro display for active signage on a layout is very cool indeed. :m)

The PWM board for LED and Servo control is already out there. I sent you one. Did you receive it yet?

Image

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 28.09.2013, 15:54

Rob,

When you get around to writing the software for the PWM chip, please let me know. I have been using a few of those chips for months now and have a list of features that should be included in the Rocnet version. I think Rocpro programming would be a good idea.

In my Rpi setup, I have one I2C bus dedicated for inputs (sensors) and the other I2C bus is dedicated to outputs. I believe this is more architecturally correct than single mixed IO bus.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 40973
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 28.09.2013, 16:02

Richard-TX wrote:I sent you one. Did you receive it yet?
No.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Post by Richard-TX » 29.09.2013, 16:49

rjversluis wrote:
Richard-TX wrote:I sent you one. Did you receive it yet?
No.
Maybe by Xmas....

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 40973
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 29.09.2013, 17:15

Hi Richard,

as soon as its delivered I will report.
But fact is: Sending goods to germany is not easy as sending goods from germany to the USA.
No further comments...

Post Reply

Return to “RocNet”