Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=roc ... netnode-en
rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2

Post by rjversluis » 06.02.2015, 16:28

I did a small test with the Raspberry Pi 2 Model B.

1) I2C must be activated with the "sudo raspi-config" menu 8.
2) The GPIO does not work for the Pi01 LEDs and button. :(
3) The Pi is a lot faster then its predecessor.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2

Post by Richard-TX » 06.02.2015, 16:36

Are you going to try a BeagleBone Black? They are on sale for $39. They are significantly faster than a Rpi.

We cannot get the Pi-2 here in the states yet.

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2

Post by Richard-TX » 06.02.2015, 17:11

rjversluis wrote:I did a small test with the Raspberry Pi 2 Model B.


2) The GPIO does not work for the Pi01 LEDs and button. :(
.
Do you think it has to do with the GPIO overlay changes (ala BBB) that were made to the OS?

9h1bw
Posts: 96
Joined: 01.02.2011, 08:14
Location: Malta

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by 9h1bw » 17.03.2015, 08:14

I have just bought the new Raspberry Pi-2 and had a similar problem to get it run. I got as far as obtaining the Rocrail directory but could not go further. A friend of mine first burnt the .img on to a SD and run it on a Pi-1 and once uploaded ran an upgrade under sudo. Once this was done Rocrail worked on the Raspberry Pi 2. Unfortunately I only got the new RPi and cannot try it out.

Is there a time frame within which an upgrade to the new RPi2 be carried out?

Chris

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by rjversluis » 17.03.2015, 08:25

Hi CHris,

maybe this thread will help out:
http://www.raspberrypi.org/forums/viewt ... 28&t=99281

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by rjversluis » 17.03.2015, 08:36

Hi Chris,
9h1bw wrote:Is there a time frame within which an upgrade to the new RPi2 be carried out?
as soon as the GPIO works I will provide an Image for the RasPi 2B.
Maybe I only have to upgrade:

Code: Select all

sodu apt-get update
sodu apt-get upgrade

9h1bw
Posts: 96
Joined: 01.02.2011, 08:14
Location: Malta

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by 9h1bw » 17.03.2015, 09:15

Thank you for the reply. I am now getting out of my depth. What I really want to do at this point in time is to replace my Pc with the raspberry Pi2 and run my lenz system as I am doing now. I had put this point forward when I wrote on the forum in 2013, as you so kindly reproduced for me. Can you point me in that direction?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by rjversluis » 17.03.2015, 09:17

9h1bw wrote:Thank you for the reply. I am now getting out of my depth. What I really want to do at this point in time is to replace my Pc with the raspberry Pi2 and run my lenz system as I am doing now. I had put this point forward when I wrote on the forum in 2013, as you so kindly reproduced for me. Can you point me in that direction?
This thread is about the GPIO...

Pirat-Kapitan
Moderator
Posts: 5041
Joined: 06.02.2010, 15:46
Location: Rösrath bei Köln / Germany

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by Pirat-Kapitan » 17.03.2015, 10:14

9h1bw wrote:Thank you for the reply. I am now getting out of my depth. What I really want to do at this point in time is to replace my Pc with the raspberry Pi2 and run my lenz system as I am doing now. I had put this point forward when I wrote on the forum in 2013, as you so kindly reproduced for me. Can you point me in that direction?
Hi,
Call me via PN with Your email adress
Best regards
Johannes

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by rjversluis » 18.03.2015, 12:07

rjversluis wrote: Maybe I only have to upgrade:

Code: Select all

sodu apt-get update
sodu apt-get upgrade
This did the trick; GPIO works on the RasPi 2B.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42378
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by rjversluis » 21.03.2015, 11:09

Hi,

a preconfigured image for the RasPi 2B is now available:
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=roc ... _2_model_b

DIYglenn
Posts: 102
Joined: 13.05.2015, 07:54

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: How to enable GPIO

Post by DIYglenn » 08.06.2015, 14:56

I have a Raspberry Pi 2 Model B V1.1.

I installed the image from rjversluis, and while it can recognize the I2C boards, the LEDs and button on GCA-PI01 doesn't work.
My firmware version is 3.18.7-v7+.

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ uname -r
3.18.7-v7+
pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: 20 21 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
40: 40 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: 70 -- -- -- -- -- -- --                         
The simplest "fix" I can think of is updating, so I ran:

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get update && sudo apt-get upgrade
After it was finished, I rebooted. It can still find the modules on the I2C-bus, but the LEDs are still "dead" on PI02.

I've also installed the latest gpio-module from sourceforge without luck.

Ideas?

Post Reply

Return to “RocNetNode”