Raspberry Pi B+: Setup from scratch

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=roc ... netnode-en
Liviu M
Posts: 949
Joined: 03.12.2011, 20:44

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: Setup from scratch

Post by Liviu M » 05.06.2015, 17:38

You may try

Code: Select all

dtoverlay=w1-gpio-pullup,gpiopin=2,pullup=y
dtoverlay=w1-gpio-pullup,gpiopin=3,pullup=y

DIYglenn
Posts: 102
Joined: 13.05.2015, 07:54

Re: Raspberry Pi B+: Setup from scratch

Post by DIYglenn » 05.06.2015, 17:49

Hmm, no difference...

Well I think I'm gonna call it a day. Not getting any further.

There must be something with device tree. I've read multiple issues with i2c and MCP23017...

DIYglenn
Posts: 102
Joined: 13.05.2015, 07:54

Re: Raspberry Pi 2: Setup from scratch

Post by DIYglenn » 06.06.2015, 19:06

rjversluis wrote:What required is for GCA-Pi* is on the preconfigured images and documented in the Wiki.
I have all Raspi model here and with the preconfigured images all models are running as expected.

On the images there is only RocNetNode, but to install Rocrail beside it should be a piece of cake.

If I had time as sand on the beach I would help you.
For some reason it doesn't work for me. I guess I should run apt-get update/upgrade after starting from the image?
Have you tried the latest updates on a RPi? B+ or V2?

I'm an IT system administrator, I now what I'm doing, but still - I can't get it working, even with the images!
it makes no sense, it can't read the different modules.
Is there a way to verify that PI01 is working correctly? That I don't have a bad solder joint etc? I highly doubt it though, but still, I'm stuck with a green blinkende LED, nothing else!
And this only with B+, I've never got it working on RPi2, image or scratch install.

Can you manage to get it running from a scratch install? I think something has changed because of the device tree. I know all that is needed is to activate i2c through raspi-config and adding i2c-dev to /etc/modules, but there's still no luck.

DIYglenn
Posts: 102
Joined: 13.05.2015, 07:54

Re: Raspberry Pi B+: Setup from scratch

Post by DIYglenn » 08.06.2015, 08:22

Gave it a new shot today, I'm FINALLY getting somewhere.

Pi B+ and image from rjversluis, and the latest firmware on Pi B+. I did not do a apt-get update/upgrade, I just started it after I had updated, and now I can see this:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- UU -- -- -- -- 
40: 40 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: 70 -- -- -- -- -- -- --                         
Some module is using 0x3B though.
Update:
I removed it by adding "blacklist snd_soc_wm8804" to /etc/modprobe.d/raspi-blacklist.conf.

Code: Select all

# blacklist spi and i2c by default (many users don't need them)

blacklist spi-bcm2708
#blacklist i2c-bcm2708
blacklist snd_soc_wm8804
Two I2C adapters are listed, not sure what "0" is though.

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo i2cdetect -l
i2c-0	i2c       	bcm2708_i2c.0                   	I2C adapter
i2c-1	i2c       	bcm2708_i2c.1                   	I2C adapter
I'll bet that an update will break it, as this Rasbian version seems to be without Device Tree. So there definitely needs to be done some work in this area. Bringing in Device Tree to Raspberry Pi is a great step in the right direction, but it screws up things for a lot of people, and I haven't got RocNetNode to work on a version with it - even disabling it in /boot/config.txt ("device_tree=") doesn't make RocNet work! There's something there, I just can't find it.

For now I'll let my RocNetNode be, I'll just add Rocrail so I can use it, but I have a spare card and a RPi 2 where I can do some tests.

DIYglenn
Posts: 102
Joined: 13.05.2015, 07:54

Re: Raspberry Pi B+: Setup from scratch

Post by DIYglenn » 08.06.2015, 11:13

Unfortunately still the same problem.
It wasn't PI02 I saw, it was PI03, now as I added the adafruit card!!

So this is with only PI03 with Adafruit connected:

Code: Select all

pi@raspberrypi ~ $ sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
40: 40 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: 70 -- -- -- -- -- -- --   
Completely blank with PI02...

I measured the voltage on PI03, the Adafruit card:
Gnd - VCC = 5V
Gnd - V+ = 1,5V

Is this correct?...

Btw. NONE of the LEDs on the other modules are on. Should LED1 on GCA-PI02 and GCA-PI03 be on at all times (power LED), or only when communicating? Because it looks like it's connected directly to power?

HELP!

Update:
PI03 is showing up in Rocview!!

Tried switching ports, cables etc, everything works.

Nothing from PI02 no matter what I do.

Update 2:
Are you f...ing kidding me?!!!
The P82B715TD SMD chip delivered with PI02 had a pin that wasn't soldered properly to the board!!!
gap.JPG
I resoldered all the 8 pins on the SMD-chip, and now it's showing up in Rocview.
RocrailSMDsolder.png
I'm glad it works, but come on?!

Anyways:

Code: Select all


pi@MPrail /opt/rocrail $ sudo i2cdetect -y 1
     0  1  2  3  4  5  6  7  8  9  a  b  c  d  e  f
00:          -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
10: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
20: 20 21 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
30: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
40: 40 -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
50: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
60: -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- -- 
70: 70 -- -- -- -- -- -- --                         
What is "70"? It's from PI03.
Update, 70 is from Adafruit:
This is normal for this chip. In addition to the regular addressing which starts at 0x40, there is an "All Call" address at 0x70 for addressing all PCA9685 devices simultaneously.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

Post Reply

Return to “RocNetNode”