Rocrail in Australia

Post Reply
cornelis
Posts: 70
Joined: 06.11.2016, 14:34
Location: Perth Australia

Rocrail in Australia

Post by cornelis » 08.09.2017, 15:03

Hi there in Australia

Who uses rocrail in australia? I am located in Perth.

Regards

Cornelis

applor
Posts: 50
Joined: 10.06.2016, 00:30

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by applor » 09.04.2018, 08:43

I am in Brisbane and I am/will be using Rocrail.

Currently building my layout and programming it in Rocrail but yet to use or test it.

I am modelling 1954 Germany with Marklin 3 rail though and I imagine you are modelling Australian trains with DCC 2 rail?

My build:

https://www.marklin-users.net/forum/pos ... 4-Apr-2018

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 42335
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by rjversluis » 09.04.2018, 09:26

Hi,
you have to login on this site...
It makes no sense to post here none public links.

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3790
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by Besra » 09.04.2018, 11:22

Hi Eric,

what an amazing project! I had a brief look at the forum thread but of course you'd need a whole weekend to follow your work. Great progress since you started in 2016. I'm looking forward to see more and maybe one day a video of your layout controlled by Rocrail :) Btw. you have an Youtube account which you could link here because it's public ;)

When it comes to Rocrail: Please start simple if you didn't already. It may be wise to built a test track and learn the first steps with Rocrail from it. As your layout grew over years, PC control needs time to learn about and to implement. [Edit: After downloading your plan from another thread I've seen your progress with Rocrail, too.]

Hi Rob,
It makes no sense to post here none public links.
well, for those of us having a login it does ;)

Regards
Bernd

applor
Posts: 50
Joined: 10.06.2016, 00:30

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by applor » 11.04.2018, 08:44

Hi Rob I am sorry you cannot view my build page, I did not realise it was private. If you are interested you can always register it is very easy and no big deal.

Hi Bernd - Thankyou for your very kind comments about my layout. I am grateful for your praise as I don't always get much feedback.
Yes I have a youtube account and an imgur account but I use them mostly for random things I need to share, rather than to show case my work.

I have not yet started with Rocrail because I still need to connect my S88 modules to the bus and then to my PC which also requires wiring my accessories power bus - all on the to do list but something I must do sooner rather than later.
I also did not have a proper control station until recently - I only have a MS2 for now but I have borrowed a CS2 which I need to be able to test.
Obviously hoping for no dramas when I get to testing, though I have designed and built my layout with automation and PC control in mind.
Only recently did I lay the main station through tracks too, which was another hurdle to initial testing.

No doubt as I get further along and do testing with Rocrail in earnest, I will be on these forums more often:)

4527pink
Posts: 26
Joined: 13.03.2018, 02:48

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by 4527pink » 11.04.2018, 23:50

Hello.
Just to say, I just started in Rocrail as well.
and I live in Adelaide South Austraila,
Andrew.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6111
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by smitt48 » 12.04.2018, 12:34

Hi Andrew,

Welcome to Rocrail!

Tom

RedTrain
Posts: 851
Joined: 13.10.2012, 19:21
Location: Uetikon am See, Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by RedTrain » 12.04.2018, 15:15

Hello Cornelis and Andrew

Welcome to the Rocrail community - Have fun with trains and RR! :)

cornelis
Posts: 70
Joined: 06.11.2016, 14:34
Location: Perth Australia

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by cornelis » 09.05.2018, 15:47

Hi Guys
Have been away on holidays and busy with work, just logged in again and seen there are now three of us in Aus?

I am still busy with laying track and making points. I keep a MS word document of my progress with pictures, happy to share but unfortunately can't be done on this platform.

Regards

Cornelis

rainynight65
Posts: 15
Joined: 16.05.2018, 22:45
Location: QLD, AU

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by rainynight65 » 28.01.2019, 20:19

I live near Brisbane, and I’m building my first layout on H0, using a DR5000 and Rocrail for digital control. Things are going a bit slower than I’d like but I’ve been making some progress in recent months, especially since I swapped my NCE PowerCab for the DR5000. Just waiting on a shipment of turnout motors and then the fun can step up a level.

applor
Posts: 50
Joined: 10.06.2016, 00:30

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by applor » 06.02.2019, 03:11

My Brisbane layout linked earlier now has full automation going with complex routes, signals, actions etc.

Loving Rocrail.

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by RCGeek » 20.04.2019, 10:17

Hi Aussies

All my previous experience has been with 2 rail DC analogue layouts and all the complex wiring and switches that involves.

This time I decided to go with DCC. I found that it is much simpler to set up and all the complex control panel and switches are completely eliminated. It is a whole new world and offers the ability to use computer control which was my ultimate goal.

I started with an NCE PowerCab in order to get to grips with DCC and it was excellent. Then I progressed to a Roco Z21 with an iPad which opened up huge new possibilities. Finally, I took the plunge and went with Rocrail which quickly replicated the Z21/iPad setup onto my HP Spectre PC. Then I started to explore Automatic Mode using Euhlenbrock current detection Track Occupancy sensors.

Now there are 3 trains under Automatic control and I plan to add more trains and make the routes more complex.

I am a total fan of Rocrail and its wiki support system with this user forum.(Pity that the German-English can be a bit weird but that is a quibble!)

I am in Melbourne and, from previous posts, it seems there are only 6 of us in Australia - maybe one per capital city!

Recently we had a Model Railway Exhibition in Melbourne which was billed as "The greatest in Australia". I went along hoping to find a Rocrail presence. Nothing!

Do you think we can do something about that?

Cheers
Richard

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 6111
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by smitt48 » 20.04.2019, 14:00

Hi Richard,
Do you think we can do something about that?
I do! :mrgreen:

You can set up a small travelling layout, with Rocrail.

Tom

RCGeek
Posts: 55
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by RCGeek » 03.05.2019, 09:27

Thanks Tom

Good suggestion but I am still only half way through building my own layout.

I had in mind a video which could show the capabilities of RocRail with someone who can draw attention to the video and help people appreciate those capabilities.

I have seen such a video recently but I cannot remember where.

Can anyone enlighten me?

Richard

cds
Moderator
Posts: 5231
Joined: 03.02.2012, 19:24
Location: Tullnerbach, Austria

Re: Rocrail in Australia

Post by cds » 03.05.2019, 09:35

Hello Richard,

Here are a couple of videos but they are in German!?

Post Reply

Return to “General”