Best Practice: 4 sensor sections in each block?

Post Reply
MadMax
Posts: 90
Joined: 10.11.2017, 07:09

Best Practice: 4 sensor sections in each block?

Post by MadMax » 27.07.2018, 15:54

Gents,

Best practice says; Plan at least 4 sensor sections in each block; Using two of them will do at start.
I've seen many discussions about the number of sensors, but I thought the conclusion was "most of the time 2"?
I have sensor ports available, should I add them to longer blocks?

Thanks,
MM

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5844
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: Best Practice

Post by smitt48 » 27.07.2018, 16:25

Hi MM,

You can, but 2 sensors per block are best. For very long station blocks you could add a "shortin" or "pre2in" sensor.

Tom

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3724
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Best Practice

Post by Besra » 27.07.2018, 16:53

Hi Max,

generally two is enough. In general you will not benefit from more than two provided that BBT is used. In special cases more sensors may be useful.
For instance asymmetric stops in a block. As an example a block with 2 and 4 sensors, respectively.

Code: Select all

|-----A-----|-----B-----|
|--A--|--B--|--C--|--D--|
In the two sensors configuration trains coming from the left will start breaking at the beginning of A, trains coming from the right will start breaking at the beginning of B. If the block is extremely long, breaking may take a while.
With the four sensors configuration trains coming from the can start breaking at the beginning of B (or C) depending on which one is defined as enter in the respective direction. From the right trains may start breaking at C (or B) instead of D. Furthermore, you can choose which of the sensors is defined as in in the particular direction. For instance, trains from left to right will start breaking in B and stop in C while trains from right to left may start breaking in D and stop in B.
All of that Rocrail can do for you in the two sensors configuration, too. But it requires more work to do on timings and config in my opinion.
The decision remains up to you. You can prepare for 4 sensors while using only 2 by simply connecting the sections electrically. In the above example A connected to B and C connected to D gives you 2 sensors but you may separate them for later use.

Regards
Bernd

MadMax
Posts: 90
Joined: 10.11.2017, 07:09

Re: Best Practice: 4 sensor sections in each block?

Post by MadMax » 28.07.2018, 12:59

I agree fully with both, but shouldn't the wiki/best practice be rephrased then? "At least 4" sounds like you might as well plan for 6, or 8....:)

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 3945
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: Best Practice: 4 sensor sections in each block?

Post by RainerK » 28.07.2018, 14:25

Hi,

meantime the Wiki did get a correction

MadMax
Posts: 90
Joined: 10.11.2017, 07:09

Re: Best Practice: 4 sensor sections in each block?

Post by MadMax » 28.07.2018, 20:17

Perfect, and thanks for the input as well! I'm contemplating adding a 'center' sensor in some blocks. As in:

A----B----C

Where left to right uses A as enter and B as in. From the right using C as enter and B as in. This to make locs stop IN a tunnel instead of peeking out. Does it make sense?

Besra
Moderator
Posts: 3724
Joined: 10.08.2009, 17:54
Location: North Rhine-Westphalia, Germany

Re: Best Practice: 4 sensor sections in each block?

Post by Besra » 28.07.2018, 20:48

Hi Max,
Does it make sense?
only you can decide if it makes sense on your layout. Build a test track and give it a try. Also try using the 'center train' option of BBT using only A and C. The result should be comparable if not the same. After that you'll know exactly which approach suits your needs.

Regards
Besra

Post Reply

Return to “General”