RocNetNode Power Supply

Post Reply
peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6548
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

RocNetNode Power Supply

Post by peter&basti » 29.09.2013, 22:35

Dear Friends,

when already using GCA Hardware a Power Supply Backbone exists for GCA 136 (9-16V AC or DC). I made a simple 5V DC control prototype for CGA-PI01 and RasPi using the schematic and part list from the GCA136 5V control section for the servos.

Parts costs less than EUR 2,-- and about 10 min soldering. Maybe Peter G can make a professional PCB?

Regards,
Peter
Attachments
RocNetSupply.png
RocNetSupply.png (44.94 KiB) Viewed 182 times

phg
Posts: 337
Joined: 23.02.2008, 20:55
Location: Deventer Niederlande
Contact:

Post by phg » 30.09.2013, 10:47

Hallo Raspi Freunde.

Eine Speisung machen wie hiervor geschaut ist ganz einfach, das weiss ich auch bestimmt.

Ich habe doch ein paar Bemerkungen dazu.:
1) Ein in die meiste Situationen benutzte Zugtransformator gibt 16 Vac ab.
In unbelastete Zustand kann das noch viel mehr, bis zu 19Volt.
Nach Gleichrichtung kann es also sein das leicht bis (1,4x19-1,2=) 25,4 Gleichspannung auf der Spannungsregeler einkommt.
Wir brauchen nur 5V also muss der Regler 20 Volt ´konsumieren´, das ist 4 x so viel als wirklich benutzt wird!
In diese Zeit von Energie Bedenkungen ein nicht so schönes Idee!

2) Gefährlich wird es, wann 2 von diese Speisungen benutzt werden, angeschlossen an diese eine Trafo!
Beide Raspi's sind mit einander verbunden durch Ethernet Kabel.
Dazu kommt dann das beide Raspies auch mittels Speisung mit einander verbunden werden.
Und genau das werde ich ganz bestimmt ENTMUTIGEN.

3) Ein Speisung wie hier vorgeschlagen ist auch sehr zu entmutigen weil das gleiche 'Dreieck' Verbindungsproblem entsteht.
Und auch das so einer Speisung zu heiss wird. Auch wird dan der Drahtverbindung von Speisung nach Raspi zu lange, was ziemlich viel Spannungsverlust zufolge hat.
GCA-PI02 Platinen funktionieren kaum noch zuverlässig wenn Spannung 4,5 V näht.



Diese Gedanken sind nicht neu, und habe mich damals bei Anfang von Raspi Lösungen schon dazu gebracht der kurze Weg zu nehmen und Standard für weinig Geld lieferbare 5V Adapter zu nehmen.
Ich verstehe das es für manche Modellbahner kein Thema ist um 230V Steckdosen unter der Bahn zu machen, speziell wenn auch ein kleiner aber jedenfalls enthousiaste Sohn oder Tochter mit arbeitet.

Deshalb werde ich mich beraten einen Lösung zu bedenken, wobei es doch möglich ist um einen zentral Trafo zu benutzen.
Aber bitte, die von Peter&Basli beschriebene Lösung unterstütze ich NICHT !
Last edited by phg on 30.09.2013, 13:08, edited 1 time in total.

phg
Posts: 337
Joined: 23.02.2008, 20:55
Location: Deventer Niederlande
Contact:

Post by phg » 30.09.2013, 12:59

Hello Raspies. :P

To make a supply 5V would be not so hard to do, as shown by Peter&Basti.

But there are a few important remarks on that issue.:

1) In most situations, a normal train transfomer is used, which would give nominal 16V ac.
Without no, or very low, load, this voltage can easily be 19 Volt or even more.
After rectifier there could be a Voltage of (1,4 x 19 - 1,2) = 25,4 Volt.!
We need 5 Volt so a lineair controller like the famous 7805 will have to consume about 4 times the power it will deliver.

In this era of energie awareness, this is something I cannot, and will not, sell to you.

2) More danger exists, when two of these supplies are connected to the same transformer.
Both Raspies (or even more than 2 !) are also interconnected with one another by means of the ethernet cable,
So there will be a loop connection via power > raspi 1 > Ethernet switch > raspi 2 > power. Totally UNACCEPTABLE !.
The same problem exists with making one supply for a multiple Raspberry Pi's.

3) Using this setup will make 5V lines unacceptable long, causing a serious loss of Voltage through the line.
GCA-PI02 chips are getting unstable when Voltge reaches the 4.5 V.

4) the sample from Peter&Basti does not contain any kind of fusing!
When a short circuit appears, fire hazard is absolutely possible, specially with the rather thin wires in a RJ12 or RJ45 cable.


All these thoughts were crossing my mind while developing GCA-PI01 and PI02.
5V adapters, specially now when all new phones and tablets are using these things, are very cheap and reliable.
So why not use that.?

For those who do not like to have 230Volt sockets under their Model railroad setup, most likely because also their kids are enthousiast to help, please consider that there are very good quality sockets, complete with cables, and child proof.

And that is much better than running a 16Vac line, unprotected, under your Layout.
I have some ideas how to use a supply which is isolated from the transformer where it is connected, to solve this problem.
Addionally, there are very good switching regulators, replacing the good old 7805, but not getting warm at all !

Please refer to the next message from Rob, explaining the availabiliy of cheap and good quality sockets and 5V power supplies for absolute valuable prices.
I cannot compete with that, whatever I design.
Last edited by phg on 30.09.2013, 16:28, edited 6 times in total.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41593
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Post by rjversluis » 30.09.2013, 14:07

This is the most reliable and easiest way to power your RasPi/GCA-Pi02:
ImageImageImage

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6548
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Post by peter&basti » 30.09.2013, 17:40

Hi Peter & Rob,

No Problem at all, it was a Real cheap trial to avoid (maybe) a lot of 220V connections. As i mentioned in a earlier Posting, i have about 12 of them in the livingroom, only for TV, Music, and Internet and i hate them :D

By the way, we dont use old Trafos, the GCA power backbone is already powered by a Notebook switched regulator.

You are fully right to avoid wasting energy!

Regards,
Peter

Post Reply

Return to “RocNet”