DiCoStation from LDT

Post Reply
rvooyen
Posts: 973
Joined: 08.12.2012, 11:31
Location: Netherlands (Hilversum)

DiCoStation from LDT

Post by rvooyen » 26.07.2014, 20:02

Hi,

Is anyone using or has had experience with the DiCoStation from Littfinski, in combination with Rocrail.
In other words does anyone recommend it as a command station for and with Rocrail?

Thanks for any info.

Robert

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by smitt48 » 26.07.2014, 22:26

Hi Robert,

I thought you were running MR-Direct. Why the need to change?

Thanks,

ste111
Posts: 278
Joined: 27.01.2010, 20:47

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by ste111 » 27.07.2014, 09:59

Hello Robert,

what are the advantages of the DiCoStation compared to other CS?
If I am right you can use the DiCo only with windows.
Don't forget you need a booster for the DiCo.

Regards
Stephan

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by smitt48 » 27.07.2014, 16:30

Hi Robert,

This what I found about DiCo in the German forum.


http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php? ... ico#p70750

rvooyen
Posts: 973
Joined: 08.12.2012, 11:31
Location: Netherlands (Hilversum)

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by rvooyen » 27.07.2014, 18:17

It is clear. Do NOT use DiCo with Rocrail.

Also IB-Com is suspect (with multi protocol locs) so also no good.

Seems there is no real option for an inexpensive CS (eg <EU 200) with Rocrail.
All other CS I think are overly expensive and try to include what is already in Rocrail (eg Ecos, CS2 etc)

So I will stick with MrDirect for now which works fine and is easy to configure and maintain. I was just checking my options.

Thanks,

Robert

ste111
Posts: 278
Joined: 27.01.2010, 20:47

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by ste111 » 27.07.2014, 20:20

Hello Robert,

there are better CS for your suggest price:
http://www.opendcc.de/elektronik/opendcc/opendcc_e.html (DIY)
Better:
http://www.fichtelbahn.de/gbm_index.html
http://shop.fichtelbahn.de/SMD-Bausatz-GBMboost-Master
http://www.bidib.org/index_e.html
http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=bidib-en
Unfortunatelly the fichtelbahn site is not in English but you can ask question at the OpenDCC forum:
http://forum.opendcc.de/

Regards
Stephan

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41610
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by rjversluis » 28.07.2014, 06:54

rvooyen wrote:It is clear. Do NOT use DiCo with Rocrail.
With DigiCom under Windows it works:
http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=7849
But I'm not sure if this is the solution you are dreaming of.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by smitt48 » 29.07.2014, 17:38

Hi Robert,

Another thread about DiCo
http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php?f=45&t=7870

fieryturbo
Posts: 8
Joined: 23.11.2015, 05:34

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by fieryturbo » 23.11.2015, 18:50

Has anyone really confirmed this station is working or not?

I'd like to look into this as a replacement for my Roco 10761 at some point.

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by smitt48 » 23.11.2015, 18:57

Hi,

Command station usage

http://forum.rocrail.net/viewtopic.php?f=2&t=993

According to the experts do not use Dico.

Tom

tggm79
Posts: 13
Joined: 06.08.2016, 12:55

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by tggm79 » 06.08.2016, 16:03

Hello,

How are things with dicostation support now (2016) ? I'm confused with the information I managed to gather. I see some people saying that RocRail supports it, other that it doesn't. Also, what's with this Digital-S-Inside software? If I use RockRail do I also need to purchase a license for this? If so, why? That will put the costs up (DSI + DicoStation + Booster)

I'm considering this CS because I'm looking for a cheap and purely computer controled approach. I've also considered openDCC but the project appears to be dead (last update in 2011) and I'm horrified of vendor lock-in. Others that I see appear more proprietary and/or expensive.

My requirements are:

1) Simple command station (no screens, or buttons)
2) S88 Support (I quite like the idea of using Hall effect sensors with LDT's RM-88-N as it makes for a cheap solution without the need to isolate track sections.
3) Optionally, train identification. Maybe the TD-88, altough it's unclear if RocRail supports it.
4) software to make simple automation (Block start stop, fiddle yard to dispatch a different train). I think Rocrail is the appropriate solution here.

I quite like the solutions provided by LDT, everything appears to work together and the fact that the supply the Miniatur Wunderland in Hamburg gives me confidence that their stuff is reliable. I just fear hidden costs with software and compatibility problems with RocRail

Thank you!

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41610
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by rjversluis » 06.08.2016, 16:10

Hi tggm79,

just use DCC232 if you want no hardware Command Station.

The Dico thing needs the digital insight software which translates P50x commands into the Dico undocumented protocol.
With this middleware you can control it with Rocrail. Without this middleware you have no chance.
In short: Look for another option.

OpenDCC is not dead, its upgraded to BiDiB.

tggm79
Posts: 13
Joined: 06.08.2016, 12:55

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by tggm79 » 06.08.2016, 16:18

Thank you for your help!

I'll check those two options :)

smitt48
Moderator
Posts: 5971
Joined: 04.04.2014, 01:07
Location: Kralendijk, Bonaire - Dutch Caribbean

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by smitt48 » 06.08.2016, 17:45

Hi,

I would look also look at DCC++

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=dccpp:dccpp-en

Tom

tggm79
Posts: 13
Joined: 06.08.2016, 12:55

Re: DiCoStation from LDT

Post by tggm79 » 06.08.2016, 19:50

This is all so confusing.

I think most of these solutions go "too far" in terms of DIY. I've been looking at lots of modules, circuits, parts with cryptic and or vague instructions. Almost none gives me confidence in terms of reliability and compatibility. I don't want to commit myself to some handmade project and spend the rest of my days compiling code or fixing circuits. That's precisely what I'm affraid of.

I believe that the best solution I've seen so far, with a good compromise on documentation, ease of assembly, cost is openDCC.

Post Reply

Return to “P50 and P50x”