[solved] control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

joernr
Posts: 112
Joined: 24.02.2008, 23:17
Location: Nümbrecht

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by joernr » 21.09.2015, 12:59

Hi Rob,

This is my dream:

LED(output) comment start stop type
L1 Shop 18:00 20:00 permanent
L1 Shop 06:00 07:00 permanent
L2 Street 18:10 07:00 permanent
L3 Flat 18:05 24:00 random
L3 Flat 06:11 08:00 random
...

Best regards

Joern

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 21.09.2015, 13:20

Hi Joern,

to make it independent of the underlying hardware it must be set individually for each output object. OK? Or is your dream a bit more complex?

joernr
Posts: 112
Joined: 24.02.2008, 23:17
Location: Nümbrecht

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by joernr » 21.09.2015, 13:38

yes, the hardware is defined in the output object. A solution could be a set of on/off times or time intervals with random on/off for eacht output object. Is this complex?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 21.09.2015, 16:59

Hi Joern,

no, its not complex.
But the resolution will be no smaller then every model minute to check for an control command. (Random or not...)

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by Richard-TX » 21.09.2015, 18:43

What about the "Weather" option in Rocrail? Doesn't that control lights too?

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 22.09.2015, 05:39

Hi Richard,

yes, you could use the Theme for controlling the lights.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 24.09.2015, 11:01

Hi,

at second thought the weather/theme is not usable for controlling building lights.

Why not using timed actions? Random is also possible.
No need for any variables.

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 24.09.2015, 11:35

Hi Joern,

I'm thinking about developing a "LightControl" feature in Rocrail.
The actions are not really usable for this purpose.

joernr
Posts: 112
Joined: 24.02.2008, 23:17
Location: Nümbrecht

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by joernr » 24.09.2015, 15:52

Hi Rob,
thank you! Only an idea: a separate scheduler like cron ?
Joern

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 25.09.2015, 09:17

Hi Joern,

a start has been implemented:

http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=lightctrl-en

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 25.09.2015, 10:50

Hi Joern,

how do you imagine the random action in a certain time range?
Just randomise only once in the from/to time range?

Richard-TX
Posts: 1320
Joined: 10.07.2012, 04:00
Location: Texas, USA
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by Richard-TX » 25.09.2015, 15:04

The idea of random is one that has many possibilities.

Random start time could be defined as a certain time +- a delta. For example, a random start time of 06:00 with a delta of +-10 means that the light will come on at any time from 05:50 to 06:10

rjversluis
Site Admin
Posts: 41699
Joined: 10.04.2006, 08:48
Location: Speyer, Germany
Contact:

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by rjversluis » 25.09.2015, 15:17

Hi Richard,

I implemented the random functionality as suggested in the German Forum.
See: http://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=lightctrl-en

joernr
Posts: 112
Joined: 24.02.2008, 23:17
Location: Nümbrecht

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by joernr » 26.09.2015, 17:08

Hi Rob,
you ask me, how I imagine the random functionality. I'm thinking about simulate ligths in a house. Various times in an interval.

Best regards

Joern

joernr
Posts: 112
Joined: 24.02.2008, 23:17
Location: Nümbrecht

Re: control the ligths in buildings with rocrail

Post by joernr » 01.10.2015, 16:13

Hi Rob,

3 days from idea to a solution - this is great! Thank you very much for you commitment.
But Ih have a problem. I have configured light control in rev 9906. But I couldn't see any action. No entry in logs. Do I have to enable something for ligthcontrol? Do you have an example?
I have defined classic actions and they are working an I have model-time.

Best regards

Joern

Post Reply

Return to “DIY Hardware”