long 'enter' sensor, no event timer Topic is solved

Post Reply
applor
Posts: 50
Joined: 10.06.2016, 00:30

long 'enter' sensor, no event timer

Post by applor » 14.01.2019, 03:29

Hello,

My layout has some blocks (33,35,36,44,89,80) which have ended up with long sensor lengths that I need to use for enter events.

This results in trains slowing down for the enter event (50%) long before they really need to, which slows the layout down and looks unappealing.
Changing the enter speed reduction (ie. to Cruise 80%) would result in an overshoot of the In event.

Unfortunately I later discovered that Event Timers in Block / Routes settings only applies to 'In' and 'EnterIn' events - not 'Enter'.

Is there a way around this or perhaps a future feature addition?



Thanks
Attachments
rocrail.ini
(4.5 KiB) Downloaded 4 times
plan.xml
(714.53 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

RainerK
Moderator
Posts: 3947
Joined: 29.04.2009, 09:31
Location: Sprockhövel (zwischen BO u. W)
Contact:

Re: long 'enter' sensor, no event timer

Post by RainerK » 14.01.2019, 04:40

Hi Eric,
applor wrote:
14.01.2019, 03:29
...Is there a way around this or perhaps a future feature addition?...
the BBT (Block Brake Timer) feature of Rocrail may provide You a solution.
Please look here: https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=loc-bbt-en and some other links on that page.
The BBT provide also an option to delay the start of the Speed reduction after the Enter event.
BBT is a powerful tool and so You need some time to read about it and also to configure it well.

applor
Posts: 50
Joined: 10.06.2016, 00:30

Re: long 'enter' sensor, no event timer

Post by applor » 14.01.2019, 21:29

Hi Rainer,

Yes I am aware of the BBT feature, though I forgot to mention that in my original post.

I was not aware it allowed a delay timer though. I will have a play with the delay timer and see how it goes!

Thanks.

peter&basti
Moderator
Posts: 6415
Joined: 09.01.2012, 22:09
Location: Vienna, Austria

Re: long 'enter' sensor, no event timer

Post by peter&basti » 14.01.2019, 21:57

Hi Eric,

if you understand german or using Google Translator/similar you can read my article how to handle the delay timer, especially to calculate the right point to brake:

https://wiki.rocrail.net/doku.php?id=us ... rocrail_ii

Post Reply

Return to “Automatic mode”