Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post Reply
RCGeek
Posts: 52
Joined: 29.12.2018, 11:18

Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by RCGeek » 17.03.2019, 04:25

Now that I understand a bit more of the role of blocks in RR, I would like to add more blocks to my layout. However I am using Uhlenbrock 63320 train detection which is faultless but requires me to disturb existing track in order to add isolaters and current feeds for new blocks.

Is there another method which is simpler to install? Do you have experience of same?

Regards
Richard

cds
Moderator
Posts: 5153
Joined: 03.02.2012, 19:24
Location: Tullnerbach, Austria

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by cds » 17.03.2019, 16:35

Hello Richard!

As your question is new and different to the other thread I took the liberty of separating your new question from the old thread.
Is there another method which is simpler to install? Do you have experience of same?
I use punctual track detection and have no experience of other methods.

Suzdal
Posts: 41
Joined: 17.07.2017, 18:43
Location: Paris & Normandie, France

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by Suzdal » 17.03.2019, 17:50

Richard,

I'm thinking about the same thing. I have the same problem with using a Digikeijs electronics

I'm not sure what punctual detection is. However I've seen infrared detectors placed across the track. I believe that they could be used as sensors in defining blocks without using isolators and current feeds.

https://www.azatrax.com/ir-model-train-detector.html

Since I'm just setting up my N gauge track network, I don't quite have the same problem you do.

Richard (in Paris)

RedTrain
Posts: 760
Joined: 13.10.2012, 19:21
Location: Uetikon am See, Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by RedTrain » 17.03.2019, 18:57

Hi Richard

I am using hall sensors which are small chip sensors, no moving parts, packaged like a small transistor or SMD transistor. They work as punctual sensors, in other words they do not give a static occupied signal (unless the train-mounted magnet stops right over them), but give a pulse when a train-mounted magnet is crossing their location. This is perfect for RR.

That way you can place and re-place sensors even *after* laying the track and without any electrical isolations in the track, or correct / enhance /add the placement of sensors at any time. The downside is, that you need to equip your locos with a magnet. It is essentially a question of personal preference. I am also equipping some cars with magnets, typically the last one in a train. With that, RR can check the integrity of trains.

The hall sensors work very reliably - build and forget. For example, you may want to check GCA CAN-bus modules. Amongst others, I am using the modules GC2-I/O and GCA173-hall-interface and I am very happy how it works.

Not having to cut-up the rails is a great advantage for me.

vikr
Posts: 390
Joined: 20.05.2012, 09:53

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by vikr » 18.03.2019, 08:55

Hi Carlo,
RedTrain wrote:
17.03.2019, 18:57

Not having to cut-up the rails is a great advantage for me.
I can see avantages, exists there an overviee "How to operate with punktual sensors in rocrail-automatics"? In opposite to the regulary way with "linesensors"?

MfG

vik
Last edited by vikr on 18.03.2019, 17:13, edited 1 time in total.

cds
Moderator
Posts: 5153
Joined: 03.02.2012, 19:24
Location: Tullnerbach, Austria

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by cds » 18.03.2019, 10:21

Hello!

In priciple punctual sensors operate in the same way as line sensors. One difference is that when using punctual sensors it is (almost) impossible to detect lost cars.
exists there an overviee "How to operate with punktual sensors in rocrail-automatics"?
An overview how to operate sensors can be found here and here.

Liviu M
Posts: 932
Joined: 03.12.2011, 20:44

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by Liviu M » 18.03.2019, 12:16

Hi Claus,
cds wrote:
18.03.2019, 10:21
when using punctual sensors it is (almost) impossible to detect lost cars.
As Carlos said
RedTrain wrote:
17.03.2019, 18:57
I am also equipping some cars with magnets, typically the last one in a train. With that, RR can check the integrity of trains.

you can detect the lost cars by mounting an extra magnet on the last car and counting the axles.

Nice day,
Liviu

vikr
Posts: 390
Joined: 20.05.2012, 09:53

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by vikr » 18.03.2019, 12:28

Hi Liviu,
Liviu M wrote:
18.03.2019, 12:16

you can detect the lost cars by mounting an extra magnet on the last car and counting the axles.

any idea, how to manage the tuntable wirh its roundhouse with punktual sensors?

MfG

vik

Liviu M
Posts: 932
Joined: 03.12.2011, 20:44

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by Liviu M » 18.03.2019, 12:39

Hi vik,
I haven't tested it, but I think is like in normal blocks, with 2 sensors? In one direction one sensor will be enter, the other in, in the opposite direction the sensors will be reverted.

But let the more experienced colleagues give you the right answer. :)

Liviu

RedTrain
Posts: 760
Joined: 13.10.2012, 19:21
Location: Uetikon am See, Schweiz
Contact:

Re: Sensors - alternatives to track sections

Post by RedTrain » 18.03.2019, 21:22

Hi all
Liviu M wrote:
18.03.2019, 12:39
... I think is like in normal blocks, with 2 sensors? In one direction one sensor will be enter, the other in, in the opposite direction the sensors will be reverted. ...
That is exactly how I do it for a typical block.
With turntables, I have no experience (yet) :)
However, to my knowledge RR is only interested in the leading edge of any occupancy sensor (for dynamic purposes), regardless of its type.

Post Reply

Return to “Automatic mode”